Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

March 27, 2014

Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

Athens — My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

Sure, she may never meet Mr. Tom Booth of Chandler, but the impact he is making in the community and in my life will last generations.

As I stumbled into the newspaper world, I thought it was best to distance myself from writing stories, columns or other religion-related material for the newspaper.

I thought the best practice would be to live two different lives, not allowing the two to meet.

So, I used my talents, but not to the full extent they were designed for.

Tom Booth, he knew he could shoot a basketball. He knew he wanted to honor God with his talent and found a way to do it.

The fourth annual Free Throws for Souls just wrapped up, and it was a big success. Booth took his talent, and used it to raise money for missions work in Chandler and across the world.

Who knew one little basketball could do so much?

God did. That is why he gave Booth the talent.

1 Peter 4:10-11 says, “Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ.”

Booth took this scripture to heart.

Through the first three years of Free Throws for Souls, Booth raised more than $50,000 for missions.

This year's totals are not complete yet, but organizers of the event are hoping to raise more than $30,000.

By using his talent, Booth has helped put food on the tables for starving families in Chandler through donations to God's Open Hands. He has reached across the world to the Ukraine by supporting a missionary who seeks to help those less-fortunate there.

Like many of you, I have read the Bible through several times. I never really took 1 Peter 4 to heart until I applied it using Booth's story.

God has truly blessed me in this wide world of communication. I never dreamed of working at a newspaper, but God knew my future.

I have been given a platform to be used to praise God with my talents, just like Booth.

So have you.

“Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others...”

What is your talent?

Better yet, in what areas of your life might you be able to bless someone else, because of the unique ability God has created you with.

We are all different. We are all created for a specific purpose in God's Kingdom.

To us, it may seem small. To God, it was the reason he desired to breathe life into us.

Tom Booth shot a basketball for 24 hours.

At first, the event raised little money and wore him out. But he knew it was what God wanted him to do.

Last year, the third year of the event, he raised $30,000.

This year, there was even more publicity of it as God has blessed Booth's effort more than he ever imagined.

Talent, or gifts from God, might not always be something that stands out at first. But it is something unique to you that you can use to make an impact in this world, an impact that could last through eternity.

Meditate on 1 Peter 4:10-11, and see where God is directing you.

You just might be the next person to impact the life of a new generation.

Chad Wilson is Editor of the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA