Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

April 16, 2013

Feature stories allow us to really get to know people

Athens — If there is one form of journalism which gives me the greatest pleasure it is writing feature stories.

I used to hate it when I was in college until I was at my very first job in Sulphur Springs as a sports writer.

I had the honor and privilege of following two brothers, Josh and Drew Biggerstaff, during their high school careers.

Josh was a multi-sport athlete in football, basketball and baseball at a small school in Como Pickton. Drew also was a multi-sport athlete, but at Sulphur Springs High School.

Josh and Drew were solid athletes and students as I saw both of them grow as athletes since they were a part of my coverage beat for the paper.

I had the honor of doing a feature story about Josh prior to his graduation and became pretty close with him throughout his career.

Tragically one day in 2005, Josh committed suicide and I had to attend his funeral. That was honestly one of the toughest days I have ever experienced as a journalist.

That season, I had met Drew for the first time while covering him as a basketball player for the Sulphur Springs Wildcats’ program.

After writing the first feature on Josh, I wasn’t sure if I would get the chance to do a feature story on Drew.

During the 2007 season, which was Drew’s senior year, the opportunity came for me to do the feature story on Drew. I jumped at the chance to do it as a memorial for his brother.

I remember a line which stuck out to me during that interview and it shows just how much he loved Josh.

“My brother Josh is a role model to me. I looked up to him in every aspect from on the court, off the court, on the field, off the field — wherever we were at,” Biggerstaff said. “When we were playing one-on-one, I had to beat him and now that he is not here to beat now, I just impress him. I want everyone to know that that is who I live for besides my parents and I want to go on and accomplish the things he would have done.”

After seeing him get choked up during the interview, I knew writing features was something I had to do every chance I got because I take honor in telling the stories of people with special memories of loved ones or special events that have shaped them into the people they are today.

I always think about how Josh is doing now and what Drew has thought about the life his brother is living here on Earth.

Knowing what Josh meant to the small town he played for and also having the honor of representing my newspaper at the viewing the day before his funeral was a difficult night for me.

I hope the way I write my feature stories is something readers enjoy, but most importantly for the people I am writing about every week.

I want as many people to be able to have their moment in the spotlight even if they feel like they haven’t done anything to deserve it because everyone has a story to tell.

I have met a lot of interesting people in my 13 years as a journalist and have learned new things about every person I have interviewed.

I hope for the remainder of the feature stories I write, the readers will learn something about a person they may have never known before.

As for myself, I hope I get many more opportunities to talk with people about what makes their lives so special so readers can have the honor of experiencing what I get to do every day as a journalist.

And you never know, one day I may be writing a feature story about you.

Joe Elerson is a staff writer for the Athens Daily Review. He can be reached at jelerson@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 U.N. School in Gaza Hit by Israeli Strike Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Officials Warn of Avoidable Death in Hot Cars Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record