Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

April 16, 2013

Feature stories allow us to really get to know people

Athens — If there is one form of journalism which gives me the greatest pleasure it is writing feature stories.

I used to hate it when I was in college until I was at my very first job in Sulphur Springs as a sports writer.

I had the honor and privilege of following two brothers, Josh and Drew Biggerstaff, during their high school careers.

Josh was a multi-sport athlete in football, basketball and baseball at a small school in Como Pickton. Drew also was a multi-sport athlete, but at Sulphur Springs High School.

Josh and Drew were solid athletes and students as I saw both of them grow as athletes since they were a part of my coverage beat for the paper.

I had the honor of doing a feature story about Josh prior to his graduation and became pretty close with him throughout his career.

Tragically one day in 2005, Josh committed suicide and I had to attend his funeral. That was honestly one of the toughest days I have ever experienced as a journalist.

That season, I had met Drew for the first time while covering him as a basketball player for the Sulphur Springs Wildcats’ program.

After writing the first feature on Josh, I wasn’t sure if I would get the chance to do a feature story on Drew.

During the 2007 season, which was Drew’s senior year, the opportunity came for me to do the feature story on Drew. I jumped at the chance to do it as a memorial for his brother.

I remember a line which stuck out to me during that interview and it shows just how much he loved Josh.

“My brother Josh is a role model to me. I looked up to him in every aspect from on the court, off the court, on the field, off the field — wherever we were at,” Biggerstaff said. “When we were playing one-on-one, I had to beat him and now that he is not here to beat now, I just impress him. I want everyone to know that that is who I live for besides my parents and I want to go on and accomplish the things he would have done.”

After seeing him get choked up during the interview, I knew writing features was something I had to do every chance I got because I take honor in telling the stories of people with special memories of loved ones or special events that have shaped them into the people they are today.

I always think about how Josh is doing now and what Drew has thought about the life his brother is living here on Earth.

Knowing what Josh meant to the small town he played for and also having the honor of representing my newspaper at the viewing the day before his funeral was a difficult night for me.

I hope the way I write my feature stories is something readers enjoy, but most importantly for the people I am writing about every week.

I want as many people to be able to have their moment in the spotlight even if they feel like they haven’t done anything to deserve it because everyone has a story to tell.

I have met a lot of interesting people in my 13 years as a journalist and have learned new things about every person I have interviewed.

I hope for the remainder of the feature stories I write, the readers will learn something about a person they may have never known before.

As for myself, I hope I get many more opportunities to talk with people about what makes their lives so special so readers can have the honor of experiencing what I get to do every day as a journalist.

And you never know, one day I may be writing a feature story about you.

Joe Elerson is a staff writer for the Athens Daily Review. He can be reached at jelerson@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest