Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

February 10, 2014

Would you die for me?

Athens — In less than two months I will be grinning from ear-to-ear and jumping for joy as I welcome Maylee Grace into the world.

For years I wondered what it would be like to be a father. Now, my little girl has reached full term in her mommy's tummy, and it is just a matter of time before she makes her appearance.

While I wondered what it would be like to be a father, I questioned whether or not I actually wanted to bring a child into this world we live in.

Think about it.

Our world is filled with hate, lies, selfishness, backstabbing, racism, bullying, and those are just to name a few.

It would seem like the world is only getting worse, but there is hope.

Really, its pretty simple.

Love.

True love, a love that would lay down its own life for another person, is the most beautiful thing in the world.

Laying down one's life comes in many forms, but ultimately it is caring more about another person than yourself.

In fact, if you think back with what is wrong with our world, our United States of America, it is the lack of love we have shown toward our neighbor.

Where did we go wrong?

Why is there so much selfishness on our part today?

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another,” Jesus Christ teaches his disciples in John 13-34-35.

Christians are supposed to be the shining example of love today. Yet too often we forget about our neighbor, fly past the stranded motorist and would not dare welcome someone with different beliefs into our home.

Jesus had just finished washing the feet of a dozen grown men when he made the statement of love. Everything Jesus did displayed how to love one another.

From talking to a prostitute at the well, to loving a segment of society others had cast out, Jesus showed how to love with our actions. He ultimately died on a cross because he loved us, and wanted us to have a chance at living a victorious life.

One of the most powerful documentaries I have ever watched deals with the world's view on Christianity and the lack of love displayed.

“Lord, Save Us From Your Followers” is a must-watch for anyone who seeks to love his neighbor.

If we all seek to love our neighbor – our fellow man – this world would be a much better place for my daughter, your family and future generations.

Loving those around us does not mean we have to like their actions, or agree with them. It simply means we do not shun them, bully them or talk bad about them just because they are different.

We are made unique for a purpose, but we can only find that purpose if we are walking in love.

February is a month dedicated to love. I challenge you to step out of your comfort zone, and look for ways to love someone new.

We all want to be loved. No matter who we are, what we have overcome or what we are going through, love is the answer.

Extend love, kindness or generosity to just one person this week, and see what a difference it makes in your life. You will gain a new perspective on life, and the simple act of reaching out will benefit yourself, your neighbor and generations to come.

Chad Wilson is Editor of the Athens Daily Review.  He can be contacted through editor@athensreview.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Jeff's mug.jpg Serial killers an interesting group of people

    I don’t mean to scare you - at least not for the wrong reasons.
    One of the reasons my wife, Jean and I married is that we liked many of the same things.  That includes entertainment.  And that further means, the same kind of movies.
    Many times we have found ourselves going to theaters to see Stephen King movies, such as “Carrie,” “Misery,” and the list is just too long to mention here.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction