Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

February 10, 2014

Would you die for me?

Athens — In less than two months I will be grinning from ear-to-ear and jumping for joy as I welcome Maylee Grace into the world.

For years I wondered what it would be like to be a father. Now, my little girl has reached full term in her mommy's tummy, and it is just a matter of time before she makes her appearance.

While I wondered what it would be like to be a father, I questioned whether or not I actually wanted to bring a child into this world we live in.

Think about it.

Our world is filled with hate, lies, selfishness, backstabbing, racism, bullying, and those are just to name a few.

It would seem like the world is only getting worse, but there is hope.

Really, its pretty simple.

Love.

True love, a love that would lay down its own life for another person, is the most beautiful thing in the world.

Laying down one's life comes in many forms, but ultimately it is caring more about another person than yourself.

In fact, if you think back with what is wrong with our world, our United States of America, it is the lack of love we have shown toward our neighbor.

Where did we go wrong?

Why is there so much selfishness on our part today?

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another,” Jesus Christ teaches his disciples in John 13-34-35.

Christians are supposed to be the shining example of love today. Yet too often we forget about our neighbor, fly past the stranded motorist and would not dare welcome someone with different beliefs into our home.

Jesus had just finished washing the feet of a dozen grown men when he made the statement of love. Everything Jesus did displayed how to love one another.

From talking to a prostitute at the well, to loving a segment of society others had cast out, Jesus showed how to love with our actions. He ultimately died on a cross because he loved us, and wanted us to have a chance at living a victorious life.

One of the most powerful documentaries I have ever watched deals with the world's view on Christianity and the lack of love displayed.

“Lord, Save Us From Your Followers” is a must-watch for anyone who seeks to love his neighbor.

If we all seek to love our neighbor – our fellow man – this world would be a much better place for my daughter, your family and future generations.

Loving those around us does not mean we have to like their actions, or agree with them. It simply means we do not shun them, bully them or talk bad about them just because they are different.

We are made unique for a purpose, but we can only find that purpose if we are walking in love.

February is a month dedicated to love. I challenge you to step out of your comfort zone, and look for ways to love someone new.

We all want to be loved. No matter who we are, what we have overcome or what we are going through, love is the answer.

Extend love, kindness or generosity to just one person this week, and see what a difference it makes in your life. You will gain a new perspective on life, and the simple act of reaching out will benefit yourself, your neighbor and generations to come.

Chad Wilson is Editor of the Athens Daily Review.  He can be contacted through editor@athensreview.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg I joke with people; then I hide for safety’s sake

    It’s not always fun getting older after you pass about 35.  For that reason, it’s been a while since giving the big number on my birthday was really what I believed was time for a party.
    I reached another age last month.  Yes, it was the number I just mentioned – plus 30.

    June 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg Drownings can decrease by learning to swim

    Working for the newspaper, I have the opportunity to report on what is happening throughout our community. 
    This week I visited with kids who were taking swimming lessons. It brought me back in time, to when I was a kid growing up on the beaches of Florida.

    June 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg 7-on-7 football tells us season is around the corner

    It's always football time in Texas, even if the game is 7-on-7 football.
    Sure, some people say that 7-on-7 is not football, because it is touch football with no lineman and no running game.
    I think it is the perfect style of football to help the quarterbacks learn the style and timing of their receivers, tight ends and running backs.

    June 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg The beginning of summer in Texas a hot time

    Texas is known for many wonderful things.  We see it in the movies, read about it in books and many of us cherish its attributes every day of our lives.
    Being born in McKinney, and raised in Waco, San Antonio and later living in Houston, and yet later in Athens, I can say without hesitation that Texas is a wonderful place to live.

    June 7, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Chimp-attack Victim Lobbies Congress Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Thousands Attend NYC Firefighter's Funeral Neighbors Mourn Killing of Texas Family Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Israeli-Palestinian Tensions, Attacks Escalate UN Secretary-General Urges Mideast Ceasefire 'Game of Thrones' Leads Emmy Nominees Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta At Texas Border, a Daily Tide of Poor Migrants Raw: Rescuers Push Beached Whale Back to Ocean Mass. Mayor: Families Lost Everything in Fire Four Kids, Two Adults Shot Dead Near Houston Connecticut Boy Dies Inside Parked Car Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats Robots Gearing Up for Their Own 'World Cup'