Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

June 22, 2012

Bible school traditions continue, but with innovations

Athens — Nothing makes me feel as young, or as old as helping at the church Vacation Bible School.

The kids, 6th grade and under, seem to be motorized, like a room full of energizer bunnies. The goal is not to slow them down, which is a hopeless endeavour, but to get them moving in a direction similar to the one you’d like them to go.

I first attended Bible School more than 50 years ago, but apparently the idea goes back farther than that. One source traces it back to Hopedale, Ill. in 1894. That early VBS lasted for four weeks, and sounded like it was lot more  Bible than vacation.

Today millions of dollars are spent around the country on new and entertaining ways to get that message across to the kids. Our Bible school was called “Sky,” and most of the songs were about soaring above the clouds, and soaring up among the stars.

My  job is to get them to sing and do motions that relate to the lyrics. It’s a workout, as much for the mind, as for the body.  One moment you’re crouching down to imitate a baby bird just getting its wings, and the next you’re soaring up high like an eagle.

I’m from a generation where singers stood in front of a microphone, and didn’t venture very far away. Today, kids are used to seeing acts that roam from one edge of the stage to the other while bouncing up and down. That’s OK, because all the kids are also jumping up and down.

Day one of the Bible school, I felt like bounding about the stage, and feeding off the energy of the youngsters. By day three, I had pretty much planted my feet, and dared them to move. Day five came ,and the eagle had pretty much landed.

Another important part of VBS is the snacks. At Wildwood Baptist Church, when I was growing up, we had the only snow cone machine around, and it wasn’t hard to get kids to come on a hot July morning, just to get a taste of  crushed ice and grape syrup. 

And I’m not talking about that powery snow we have today.  Snow cones that day were little rock-hard pellets, that would destroy my teeth today, even the expensive ones.

Then, after a few minutes of delight, we would return with our purple lips and fingers to the classroom for mission stories and memory verses. It was a challenge for the teachers to reign us back in after the snow cones, but they did a good job.

Now, the snacks have to be more imaginative. We had jello and strawberries, popcorn, pretzels and cheese, and a lot of other unusual combinations that came out pretty appetizing to the taste and to the eye.

Games have always been an  important part of Bible school. You hope they’ll expend a lot of energy without really injuring anyone. Our youth leader, Cody, did a good job with that. One game had the kids closing their eyes, and helping carry a big beach ball.

The idea was for him to give them directions, which they followed blindly until they reached a helper, who was holding a hoop.

When they reached the hoop, he instructed the kids to drop the ball, which  fell right through the intended target. It’s kind of a metaphor about following God’s prompting and letting him lead you in the right direction.

Another part of Bible school when I was young was crafts. The first couple of times I went to VBS, we were instructed to bring one of our dad’s cigar boxes, which we decorated with macaroni, then spray-painted gold. I haven’t seen a gold, macaroni-covered cigar box in years. Perhaps its just as well.

One year the craft was to create an artificial flower arrangement. Yeah – the guys too. I messed mine up so bad, the teacher had to throw out the original idea, and help me make an arrangement with the flowers I had left. I think mine turned out to be the prettiest arrangement of them all.

Studies show that kids don’t care much for crafts these days. At the end of the Bible school week, a lot of them just leave them at the church, and never take them home. To remedy that, our church used that time for science experiments.

The best one was a little rocket that the kids filled up with water, then a little fizzy stuff. Wait a few seconds, and it flies into space, or at least above the roof top. I thought it was pretty cool. If the kids don’t learn any Bible, they can at least make a bomb.

Don’t worry,  It’s harmless – just don’t stand too close.

Rich Flowers is News Editor of the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN