Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

June 20, 2014

I joke with people; then I hide for safety’s sake

Athens — It’s not always fun getting older after you pass about 35.  For that reason, it’s been a while since giving the big number on my birthday was really what I believed was time for a party.

I reached another age last month.  Yes, it was the number I just mentioned – plus 30.

I don’t really mind it.  But, what good would it do if I did?  I’m going to be that age, regardless of my wishes, my strength or my athleticism. Of these, my wish is that it will be all there is to work with.

Age has always been something I’ve enjoyed hearing from others.  From the time I was a little boy, I have always liked to see the expression on a face, particularly a woman’s face when the age question just pops up.

I have kept those enjoyable moments alive.  Yes, I still act like a gentleman (usually), but in my imagination, I am always asking a woman her age, knowing she doesn’t want to discuss it.  That’s the fun part.  I remember asking my mother that, and after she told me, I laughed.  And, I continued asking her that day-after-day.  It was just good-clean-fun.

I would follow suit with my wife, Jean, but I need to work.  And, I want to be able to work the next day.  And walk.  And drive.  And talk.

I do joke with Jean about it, though. We watch FOX4 News every morning, and at 7 a.m., they give birthday wishes for three celebrities. It’s so much fun to find out the ages of all the women –– I mean ­­–– all the people.

And, when we are guessing the ages of those celebrities before it is revealed, I always try to guess high.

There’s just more fun in doing it that way.

In our jokings, I once told my wife that when I was on the job as editor for the Wagoner (Oklahoma)  Tribune, a woman came in, and I interviewed her for a story.  I don’t remember what the story was about, but right now, I just don’t think that is very important.

Anyway, at the end of the day, I told my wife that the woman had given me certain autobiographical material, and I said, as I scribbled the information, “I need to get that age, please.”

She said, “I’d really rather not give that.”

Then I said, “It’s a state law.  When you speak with the media, you must give your age.  That’s only for women, so don’t worry about your husband.”

I told my wife that woman got up, shoved my computer off its stand, and beat my desk with her purse, destroying everything on it.

After telling my story to my wife, she said, “This is your imagination working again, isn’t it?”

“Yes,” I said quietly while looking down at the floor, like there was no hope for my mental affliction.

I find that as I get older, laughing about things is always a pleasure.  That’s the reason I tend to play on people’s sensitivities.

Hopefully, when I do that, we can all laugh. If we can’t laugh, I will stop immediately.

Laughing or smiling is the final goal for doing it in the first place.

So, today, you should share something funny.  Don’t make it the things I do.  That tends to be hazardous to my health.

Jeff Riggs is Associate Editor of the Athens Daily Review.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament