Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

May 30, 2014

Walk a mile in her shoes

Athens — Like many men across Henderson County today, I will wear a pair of high-heeled shoes, and walk a mile around the courthouse square in Athens.

The Walk a Mile in Her Shoes event is designed for men of the community to help raise awareness about a serious subject­domestic abuse.

What started out as a small group of men daring to walk around a park has grown to become a world-wide movement with tens of thousands of men raising millions of dollars for local rape-crisis centers, domestic-violence shelters and other sexualized-violence education, prevention and remediation programs.

Simply put, domestic violence is sickening. There is no call for it.

There is nothing manly about abuse. Whether its animal, child or domestic abuse, it is all sick.

As I have previously written in this space, as men we are called to guide our family through life according to God's purpose. Abuse in any form is not what God intended when He gave us our helper.

I have experienced domestic violence first-hand, and will tell you that no one benefits from the experience.

Growing up, I watched as my father had too much to drink, and would physically abuse my mother.

Why the abuse took place I will never know, but I do remember it being both physical and verbal.

Alcohol played a major role in the abuse, but it is not a viable reason for it.

Both my parents were impacted by the abuse as their marriage ended after 13 years.

For the three children who watched as the abuse took place – the yelling and screaming to the pushes and punches – the impact lives on.

I can not speak for my brother and sister, but I remember standing between my mother and father on several occasions to try and stop the abuse.

What I took from it all is simple – don't repeat the pattern.

I love my wife with every fiber of my being. I do not always do things right, but I do strive to be the best husband and father possible in every situation.

Instead of bullying my wife to get what I want, I chose to love and respect her.

Honestly, there is no place for the name-calling or other forms of abuse in the home. There will always be consequences for such behavior.

Right now, I have taken the high road after watching domestic violence destroy my parents' marriage. I do know there are those negative side effects that I have yet to discover.

One negative side effect would be the low self-esteem I carried through high school and into my early college years. With the chaos at home, I did not have that safe place to learn and grow.

Instead of building confidence to tackle life,  I felt less than others, until I found God.

Men, I urge you to consider your spouse and your children, before you act out in rage. What you do today will have a lasting impact on your family for generations to come.

As hundreds of men from Henderson County walk around the courthouse square today trying to avoid twisting an ankle in high heels,  I urge the rest of the county to help put an end to domestic violence.

Domestic violence does not have to exist. It truly is a choice. It is time to chose love instead.

Chad Wilson is Editor of the Athens Daily Review.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment