Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

July 5, 2014

CSUMC provided a memorable experience

Athens — My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.

I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

I have been a member of Toastmasters International for more than 30 years, and could remember my first trip to a mic’ in front of a lot of people as a nervous experience, to say the least. But that was just to give a short speech – not sing. 

Certainly, I believed that to sing in front of a group would be even more challenging.  Therefore, Jean and I went to the gathering Saturday to watch what others were doing, and perhaps at the next one, I may openly participate, doing more than applauding. We thought – well we might, but perhaps not.  The jury was still out.

I watched as people, both members of CSUMC, and those who are not, were singing their hearts out. I learned that there was some thought about making it an entertaining performance. 

But, the most important part of singing to the group was to communicate their feelings about the Lord Jesus Christ. 

They were people of all backgrounds, ages and genders.

After some congregational gospel hymns, the service is opened up to anyone who would like to sing, play or offer another musical gifts. Solos, duets, or groups could offer two pieces each. Recorded background tracks on cassettes, CD's, or digital media could be used.  A pianist and bass player were also available for live accompaniment.

The Rev. Steven C. Newcomb, Sr., pastor of the church, said the event can be classified as a tradition.

“Our monthly services of singing are truly incredible opportunities to worship God through music. Although they start like a traditional ‘hymn sing,’ the movement into a time of opportunity for any and all present to offer special offerings of song, not only allows those individuals or groups who play or sing to worship through their offerings, but also provides a powerful worship experience for everyone in the room,” the pastor said. “Anyone who wishes to offer special music may do so with up to two pieces. Our service starts at 6 p.m. on the fourth Saturday of each month, and goes until we are done. The singing is followed by a time of table fellowship, with food provided by the members of Carroll Springs UMC.”

The church is located at 5810 County Road 4600, Athens. The pastor’s e-mail is  pastor@carrollspringsumc.org

Congratulations to all who sang. It was a wonderful evening of fellowship, as Pastor Newcomb has indicated.  I’m sure most everyone left feeling as high on God and beautiful memories as Jean and I were.

And, the food after the event was as truly wonderful as it always is when CSUMC church members spend their time cooking before the church events.

A special thanks goes to, not only those that performed, but also to those who organized the event.  The Rev. Newcomb comes to mind, as well as the song leader for the church, Dana Mitchell. Certainly, Melinda Mitchell played a big part, as well as many others that I saw moving around helping others with microphones, musical instruments and various other duties.

Jeff Riggs is Associate Editor of the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment