Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

April 10, 2014

I've got my rib back!

Athens — Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.

Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.

Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.

More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

It was a very cold day on Saturday, January 19 in the year 2008. In fact, it had snowed just the day before.

Like many important moments in life, that date is frozen in my mind as a day everything changed. A day where I no longer live for myself, a day I received more than I could have ever asked for.

You see, that day I got my rib back.

Thats right, my rib that was ripped out of me while I was being formed in my mother’s womb.

“But for Adam no suitable helper was found. So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and then closed up the place with flesh. Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man,” Genesis 2:20-22, NIV.

My rib, better known as Lacie Mae Royal, was given to me but it included so much more.

It came fresh with a new point of view, feelings and a personality of its own.

While I entered marriage with a Biblical perspective on things, it has not always been easy trying to work the rib back into my body, my way of life.

I was a big fan of movies. I spent hundreds of dollars on sports memorabilia and I was a regular at that big stadium where professional baseball is played in Arlington.

However, little by little those things have disappeared over the last six years.

It has not been easy, you could say I have lost another part of myself, but the reward is far greater than the sacrifice.

Lacie is not a fan of Rated R movies, no matter the reason. In fact, she does not like a lot of PG-13 titles that seem okay to most.

I had a big collection of movies when we first married. Some, I understood her point and went ahead and trashed upon first request. Others, like the three mentioned above, well, there were a lot of tough discussions held.

My point of view was off. I still wanted my way, my movies and the way I used to go about my business.

While I understood sacrifice in some areas, I did not fully grasp what God was teaching me.

“Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. After all, no one ever hated their own body, but they feed and care for their body, just as Christ does the church— for we are members of his body,” Ephesians 5:25-30.

Simply put – Christ died for the church.

I loved myself, my movies and my sports but I didn’t understand that somethings have to be removed for something else – my rib – to be put in place.

My no means is my sacrifice complete. Daily there are areas in life I must die to in order to “feed and care for” this new piece of my body.

Men, how have you viewed your relationship with your wife?

Are you like me? Have you held on to items that your wife would rather you do without?

It is not about giving up, giving in or being “whipped” - it is about doing what is best for your body as the two of you are now one.

Through various sacrifices, I have gained so much more.

The relationship Lacie and I have today is far better than it was when we were dating or in the honeymoon phase of our marriage.

The year we dated, we attended more than 20 baseball games together. Since, we have attended less than eight.

Instead of baseball games, I have someone who has taught me to feel instead of think, to listen instead of speaking, to give and to compromise.

Men, I encourage you to take a step back and think about all that your wife has brought to your marriage. You might be surprised by the results.

The next time she asks you to turn off the game, put down the phone or avoid a certain movie - just do it. You have already received your rib back, it is time to take care of your body.

Chad is the Editor of the Athens Daily Review. Reach him by email at editor@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament