Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

July 17, 2012

People who abuse animals, and other people will always exist

Athens — The 4-year-old pug-mix was scared. She had been tortured. Needless to say she didn't trust anyone. Thank goodness the good samaritans that found “Hope” did not give up on her.

The dog was found with a swollen tongue, and with a number of knife wounds on her.  The woman who found her could not even tell what was wrong.

She did finally realize that was her tongue hanging out her mouth. Animal Control said it was the worst case of animal abuse it had encountered in 11 years.

Volunteers took time out of their day to search for Hope. Still scared, the dog avoided the people trying to save her. The did finally locate Hope. A veterinarian in North Texas took in Hope, to try to save her life. Her story has a good ending. They think Hope will survive, and not lose much of her tongue.

Wouldn't it be good if all animal abuse cases have this ending. But most don't end so good. They will die at the hands of their owners, or maybe even a stranger. The fact is there are animals every minute of the day being abused.

Why?

This was one of the most horrible things I had ever heard or read. I know other animals are mistreated, but this one came with pictures. It made it so much more real. You could see evil in whoever hurt that dog.

I don't expect everyone to be a dog lover like me, but I do expect most people to respect any form of life.

I don't advocate turning an animal into the shelter, just because you are tired of having a pet. A pet is a life-long commitment. When you make the decision to get a pet, it should be like adopting a child. It's yours for their life span.

Recently I read a story about a young girl who was kept in a chicken coup as punishment. Recently, I heard they made her wear a shocker collar. This girl was someones daughter or sister. Unfortunately it was her parents who locked her up. No respect for life.

Like Hope, what could this girl have done that is so bad?

I hope this young girl grows up to know not everyone is as bad as the people who put her in the cage. But there are people who are bad. I hope she learns to tell the difference. She will need some professional help to get over her experience.

Elderly are another high-risk group for abuse. Just because we age, does not give anyone the right to take advantage of us.

If you live long enough, you will be vulnerable to people who want to take advantage of you. I hope you are lucky enough to have family who will protect you.

Why do people abuse the ones that can help themselves?  I just answered my own question. Animals, children and the elderly can't fight back.

I am glad Hope will be okay.  I can sleep now, without seeing the poor dog in my dreams. If we would make our laws stricter on abuse this kind of thing may be avoided.

But who knows? People who abuse children, animals or elderly will always exist. All we can do is protect the animals and people we can.

Please support your humane societies. The organizations are overwhelmed with animals being abandoned.

Kathi Nailling is a Staff Writer for the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow