Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

July 17, 2012

People who abuse animals, and other people will always exist

Athens — The 4-year-old pug-mix was scared. She had been tortured. Needless to say she didn't trust anyone. Thank goodness the good samaritans that found “Hope” did not give up on her.

The dog was found with a swollen tongue, and with a number of knife wounds on her.  The woman who found her could not even tell what was wrong.

She did finally realize that was her tongue hanging out her mouth. Animal Control said it was the worst case of animal abuse it had encountered in 11 years.

Volunteers took time out of their day to search for Hope. Still scared, the dog avoided the people trying to save her. The did finally locate Hope. A veterinarian in North Texas took in Hope, to try to save her life. Her story has a good ending. They think Hope will survive, and not lose much of her tongue.

Wouldn't it be good if all animal abuse cases have this ending. But most don't end so good. They will die at the hands of their owners, or maybe even a stranger. The fact is there are animals every minute of the day being abused.

Why?

This was one of the most horrible things I had ever heard or read. I know other animals are mistreated, but this one came with pictures. It made it so much more real. You could see evil in whoever hurt that dog.

I don't expect everyone to be a dog lover like me, but I do expect most people to respect any form of life.

I don't advocate turning an animal into the shelter, just because you are tired of having a pet. A pet is a life-long commitment. When you make the decision to get a pet, it should be like adopting a child. It's yours for their life span.

Recently I read a story about a young girl who was kept in a chicken coup as punishment. Recently, I heard they made her wear a shocker collar. This girl was someones daughter or sister. Unfortunately it was her parents who locked her up. No respect for life.

Like Hope, what could this girl have done that is so bad?

I hope this young girl grows up to know not everyone is as bad as the people who put her in the cage. But there are people who are bad. I hope she learns to tell the difference. She will need some professional help to get over her experience.

Elderly are another high-risk group for abuse. Just because we age, does not give anyone the right to take advantage of us.

If you live long enough, you will be vulnerable to people who want to take advantage of you. I hope you are lucky enough to have family who will protect you.

Why do people abuse the ones that can help themselves?  I just answered my own question. Animals, children and the elderly can't fight back.

I am glad Hope will be okay.  I can sleep now, without seeing the poor dog in my dreams. If we would make our laws stricter on abuse this kind of thing may be avoided.

But who knows? People who abuse children, animals or elderly will always exist. All we can do is protect the animals and people we can.

Please support your humane societies. The organizations are overwhelmed with animals being abandoned.

Kathi Nailling is a Staff Writer for the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case