Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

July 17, 2012

People who abuse animals, and other people will always exist

Athens — The 4-year-old pug-mix was scared. She had been tortured. Needless to say she didn't trust anyone. Thank goodness the good samaritans that found “Hope” did not give up on her.

The dog was found with a swollen tongue, and with a number of knife wounds on her.  The woman who found her could not even tell what was wrong.

She did finally realize that was her tongue hanging out her mouth. Animal Control said it was the worst case of animal abuse it had encountered in 11 years.

Volunteers took time out of their day to search for Hope. Still scared, the dog avoided the people trying to save her. The did finally locate Hope. A veterinarian in North Texas took in Hope, to try to save her life. Her story has a good ending. They think Hope will survive, and not lose much of her tongue.

Wouldn't it be good if all animal abuse cases have this ending. But most don't end so good. They will die at the hands of their owners, or maybe even a stranger. The fact is there are animals every minute of the day being abused.

Why?

This was one of the most horrible things I had ever heard or read. I know other animals are mistreated, but this one came with pictures. It made it so much more real. You could see evil in whoever hurt that dog.

I don't expect everyone to be a dog lover like me, but I do expect most people to respect any form of life.

I don't advocate turning an animal into the shelter, just because you are tired of having a pet. A pet is a life-long commitment. When you make the decision to get a pet, it should be like adopting a child. It's yours for their life span.

Recently I read a story about a young girl who was kept in a chicken coup as punishment. Recently, I heard they made her wear a shocker collar. This girl was someones daughter or sister. Unfortunately it was her parents who locked her up. No respect for life.

Like Hope, what could this girl have done that is so bad?

I hope this young girl grows up to know not everyone is as bad as the people who put her in the cage. But there are people who are bad. I hope she learns to tell the difference. She will need some professional help to get over her experience.

Elderly are another high-risk group for abuse. Just because we age, does not give anyone the right to take advantage of us.

If you live long enough, you will be vulnerable to people who want to take advantage of you. I hope you are lucky enough to have family who will protect you.

Why do people abuse the ones that can help themselves?  I just answered my own question. Animals, children and the elderly can't fight back.

I am glad Hope will be okay.  I can sleep now, without seeing the poor dog in my dreams. If we would make our laws stricter on abuse this kind of thing may be avoided.

But who knows? People who abuse children, animals or elderly will always exist. All we can do is protect the animals and people we can.

Please support your humane societies. The organizations are overwhelmed with animals being abandoned.

Kathi Nailling is a Staff Writer for the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • TVCC’s Lovato proves success breeds champions

    Tuesday night was another special night for the athletic program at Trinity Valley Community College.
    It wasn’t a night where a team finished out another amazing season, but one of celebration for a team fans across Henderson County have come to love during the basketball season.
    The Celebrate 8 ceremony for the TVCC Lady Cardinals was held at Cardinal Gym to recognize a team that has accomplished a history-making feat most teams could only dream of.

    April 21, 2014

  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: Obama Tours Gyeongbok Palace Swimmer Michael Phelps Back in Competition Raw: Obama Lays Korean War Memorial Wreath Obama Leads Naturalization Ceremony in Seoul Calif. School Bus Crash Hurts Driver, 11 Kids Country Club for Exotic Cars Little Science Behind 'Pollen Vortex' Prediction US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents