Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

June 7, 2014

The beginning of summer in Texas a hot time

Athens — Texas is known for many wonderful things.  We see it in the movies, read about it in books and many of us cherish its attributes every day of our lives.

Being born in McKinney, and raised in Waco, San Antonio and later living in Houston, and yet later in Athens, I can say without hesitation that Texas is a wonderful place to live.

However, with the beginning of summer, it seems the heat is on.  It appears it is on right now.

I remember a time in my childhood in Waco when the television weatherman noted that everyday for about 60 days, the high temperature for each day was in the the three digits.  And get this – the second digit was a 1.

Yes, every day over that time period, the high temperature for that day was between 110 and 119.  Many days it was 115 or 116.

So, how hot is that for the average person?  For the average Texan, it is hot, but not beyond belief.  If you have lived in Texas for a few years, you likely have seen the temperature much like that on a desert area in the summer.  It’s also likely that you have experienced sunburn.

I remember when I was a tot that our homes did not have central air.  It was instead, a window fan.  Or perhaps, it was one of those water air conditioners, where coolness was extracted from water, and sent into the air for us to enjoy.

Actually, there was a time during my childhood when there were no devices to help cool a residence at all in our homes.  We just opened the windows, day or night, and hoped for cool air to somehow materialize.

As for automobiles, I believe there were very few with air conditioning.  When you rode along, you knew it wouldn’t be long before you reached your destination, so you didn’t really worry about it, while you took a towel, and wiped the sweat off your face, arms and hands.  When you got where you were going, you sometimes looked like you had been in a shower with your clothes on.  Certainly, your shirt or blouse looked like you have been out working in the heat.

I believe it was 1958 when some of our relatives from Ohio came down for a visit – a hot visit!

Honestly, the children had never experienced that kind of heat.

The boys wanted to feel like men who were not bothered by anything uncomfortable.  After a while, they gladly joined the women near the fans.

Certainly, that summer, like any summer in Waco, a water hose with holes in it, spewing forth water in the air to water not only the lawn, but the children (sometimes the adults) on the lawn, was used widespread.

One of my cousins who came with the family from Ohio actually got sick from the heat, and had to have ice applied to her skin. Of course, that felt great to any of us at that time.

I lived in Houston for 33 years, beginning with the time I went to college there.  I remember thinking that was at least one of the most humid places I had ever been.  Even with air conditioning in the vehicle you were driving, a towel was a welcome item to take along – day or night!

So, is this my way of complaining about the weather in Texas?  No, not at all.

There was a time that I thought it would be nice to move to Ohio, and be near all my mother’s family.  I thought that maybe the summers would be more tolerable.

But then, I remembered what my aunts and uncles and cousins had told me about the struggling to get around in the winter.

No, Texas with its heat in the summer is just fine!

Jeff Riggs is Associate Editor of the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage