Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

May 30, 2014

Golfers beware – I’m coming to the course!

Athens — FOURRRRRRRRR!

This is a warning to my fellow teammates and golfers who will be playing with me next week at the 27th annual Coaches Playday golf tournament at Kings Creek Golf Club.

It's not that I am not a fan of the game of golf, I am just letting you know I have no idea where my golf ball will land.

When I was asked to play in the tournament a year ago, I was not sure if I was decent enough to play, so I spent the day doing the next best thing.

It’s driving a golf cart along all 18 holes at Twin Lakes Golf Course in Canton.

Last year, my reasoning was I needed to be working for the paper, so I had to be the photographer. Yes, not the best excuse for not playing in a golf tournament.

This will be the first time that my clubs and shoes have seen the light of day in possibly a year or more, so there is no telling what will happen when I hit my first shot of the tournament.

This year, when I was asked to come out and play again, I told them I am not that great, but I think I will give it a shot.

I always find it amazing when I see high school golfers, or spend time watching the game on television, how easy some of them can hit their shots.

I then think I can do that same thing on a consistent basis, but my ball will not go as far, or it will hook or slice way off course.

I then go searching for the ball, but lose more golf balls than I could imagine.

I want to let my fellow golfers know that they will be thoroughly entertained by the way that I play the game. I know for a fact that my golf ball will not be the best ball in the scramble with my group.

I do know for a fact that if you need a good putter, I will be able to help out the team to the best of my ability.

With my competitive nature, I will attempt to be one of the top four putters in the event to advance to the finals. I hope I can live up to my word on that one, and not make a fool of myself in more ways than one.

Even though the golf event is the highlight of Coaches Playday, it is a great event for a group of 60 coaches and individuals to take part in a fun event away from work.

This is an event where the fun and fellowship brings all types of personalities out to the golf course.

For once, you will not have to worry about grilling a coach about a certain game, or asking about a signing for a student.

This is going to be an event I will be excited to participate in, just to see how the coaches and members respond to my game.

It will also give me an opportunity to learn more about the people that I will be playing with away from the stresses of a deadline.

I give a lot of credit to Benny Rogers for putting together such a great event every year. It is even more special to know that we at the Review are a sponsor of the event.

It should be a great event next week filled with fun, sun and lots of stories throughout the day.

Expect to see some interesting play from me next week but I will make sure to help my team out the best I can.

If nothing else, you may see a golf ball coming your way at least once in the 18 holes.

Joe Elerson is the sports writer for the Athens Review. He can be reached at sportseditor@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp