Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

May 23, 2014

Memorial Day is not just a day to take off work

Athens — It’s one of those days that are unique.  It’s unique because few  human beings after Jesus Christ offered to gave everything, so that we may live.

That’s what veterans who fought in our wars for us, and died in their attempts to protect us, actually did.

Memorial Day is a U.S. federal holiday, wherein the men and women who died while serving in the U.S. Armed Forces are remembered. The holiday, which is celebrated every year on the final Monday of May, was formerly known as Decoration Day and originated after the American Civil War to commemorate the Union and Confederate soldiers who died in the Civil War. By the 20th Century, Memorial Day had been extended to honor all Americans who have died while in the military service.

It typically marks the start of the summer vacation season, while Labor Day marks its end.

Many people visit cemeteries and memorials, particularly to honor those who have died in military service. Many volunteers place an American flag on each grave in national cemeteries.

So, how can we thank them?  There is no appropriate way, in so far as giving thanks that comes nowhere close to that of what they gave.

Every Memorial Day, and on many other days as well, I think of my Uncle Harold Turner.  He was the only male sibling in my mother’s family.

Like many, many young men during World War II, he was eager to help in the war effort, and to serve his country to keep  the U.S. and its citizens from becoming property of the Germans or the Japanese or any other country.

As a result of his patriotism, and need to serve, he was flying in the Army Air Corps over France when his plane was shot down.

He and his entire crew were killed.  Their bodies were recovered, and their families were notified.

I remember the story of how my grandmother, who was divorced from my grandfather, had to face the horror of losing a son alone. Yes, Harold’s three teenaged sisters were there, but my grandmother had to comfort them, as well.

The marked government motor vehicle carrying those bringing the news came to her house, and immediately, she knew, before they ever got through the yard, that her son would forever be gone from this earth.

The girls knew it also, but were ready to wait for the final news, before they would believe that his death was the actual truth.

My mother told me that her mother sat by herself constantly.  Mother believed she might be praying, perhaps just crying her eyes out in disbelief that anything this awful could happen in her life.

When it came to bringing Harold’s remains back to the states, my grandmother was negative to that.  The only way he could be identified was by what he had in his shirt pocket that was his.  My grandmother said those items could have been borrowed by another crewmember, so she didn’t want to do that.

Instead, he was buried in a U.S. Memorial Cemetery in a city near Nice, France.

In 1989, my wife Jean and I went to that site, and we became the first in the family to view the grave of Harold Turner.

I had mixed feelings.  It was a sad moment, yet it was a warm moment.  I was especially honored just being around hundreds of men and women who had given their lives, so that I could be the American I wanted to be today.

This Memorial Day, make that your goal.  Don’t just take it as a day off, but as a time to honor those who gave everything so that you could be free, and that you could live the life that the deceased veterans could not continue as a result of their unlimited generosity.

Jeff Riggs is Associate Editor of the Athens Daily Review.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA