Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

February 11, 2013

Yeah, there’s a game, but I’m just listening to the words!

ATHENS — It looks like CBS and the Super Bowl could be in trouble once again.

For those of you who watched Super Bowl XLVII last Sunday, Baltimore Ravens quarterback and Most Valuable Player Joe Flacco let out a celebratory F-bomb on national television.

It seems natural when players win the biggest game of the year that they would say the first thing that comes to mind.

In the end, an average of 108.4 million viewers tuned in to the game, compared with 111.3 million a year ago when the New York Giants defeated the New England Patriots on NBC.

CBS said it was the third-most-watched program in television history, behind last year's Super Bowl and 2011’s matchup between the Pittsburgh Steelers and the Green Bay Packers, which garnered 111 million viewers.

Of those viewers, I am curious how many people stuck around to see the celebration between Flacco and teammate Marshal Yanda.

For Flacco, the emotions were high since this was his first Super Bowl victory and he tied Joe Montana and Kurt Warner by throwing 11 touchdowns with no interceptions in the playoffs.

Now according to an article on Yahoo.com, a watchdog group says it wants the Federal Communications Commission to act after CBS aired Flacco and another player using a curse word.

Both incidents happened right after the Ravens defeated the San Francisco 49ers, 34-31, in a Super Bowl that had more than just a language issue.

The other issue, which is not one to get the network in trouble, was the unfortunate 35-minute delay in which half of the lights at the Mercedes Benz Superdome went out during the third quarter of the game.

I did not take offense to the slip, but did notice it clearly as I was watching the celebration following the game.

Words like that come naturally with many football players, but this is one of those times where it gets noticed because there was not a time delay for the live coverage.

Should they have had the time delay set for the post game celebration? Absolutely.

The Parents Television Council made their feelings known after the game.

“Now nine years after the infamous Janet Jackson incident, the broadcast networks continue to have ‘malfunctions’ during the most-watched television event of the year, and enough is enough,” PTC president Tim Winter said.

I remember the incident in 2004 when Justin Timberlake and Janet Jackson had the incident with her wardrobe malfunction and the backlash it caused.

It does seem interesting to me that CBS had a time delay prepared for the halftime show with Beyonce, but they would not have one set for problems which would arise with on-the-field conversations with players and coaches.

It seems to me the networks would find more ways to protect viewers from hearing such words, but the FCC defines profanity in a different way.

“The FCC has defined profanity as ‘including language so grossly offensive to members of the public who actually hear it as to amount to a nuisance.’  Like indecency, profane speech is prohibited on broadcast radio and television between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.,” the FCC policy reads.

With Flacco’s slip, I think this issue will be in the news for a couple of days but we will most likely forget about it because it happens more times than we imagine.

Should we put blame on Flacco for the word, or on the network for once again making a mistake during the nation’s biggest game of the year?

I say the blame should be placed on CBS for not having a delay ready or for the announcer’s to not recognize and apologize for the slip.

But that is what happens in the world of sports and it will most likely continue to happen for years to come.

Sports on television will always have some issue among watchdog groups or commentators, but one thing is for certain it will always bring fans to the games or their televisions to see just how great they perform on the biggest stage.

No matter how an athlete shows their celebration, I will always be intrigued as a fan to see just what is said following a postgame celebration.

Joe Elerson is a staff writer for the Athens Review.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp