Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

January 30, 2013

One more reason athletes shouldn’t be our heroes

Athens — There comes a time in life when sports fans look up to certain athletes for their accomplishments and want to call them heroes.

But one question continues to come to mind no matter what sport we are watching.

Why do the athletes who we strive to be like find ways to let us down on a daily basis and get away with things for so long?

Millions of Americans watched as a cycling legend gave his non-heartfelt confession in a two-part series with Oprah Winfrey to try and set the record straight about his doping during seven Tour de France titles.

All I can say on the confession is: shame on you, Lance Armstrong.

This story just proves people we consider heroes have no business being called a hero.

Yes, Lance did do amazing work for his Livestrong foundation which he was a part of, but as a sports star he continued to find ways to ruin people’s lives.

He found ways to lie in numerous interviews but ultimately he found ways to keep his cheating scandal within the sport he trained so hard for to be the best athlete he could be every race.

But once he got in front of a camera for Oprah Winfrey’s show, he folded within the first five minutes of the interview.

He claims that there was no way he could win those titles without taking the drugs.

Isn’t that an obvious statement since no player or team has ever won that many world titles in consecutive years?

It’s amazing to think no one saw any red flags or questioned even harder how one person could find a way to pass every single drug test he was administered before a race or during races and never failed one of those test.

I respect the words of ESPN columnist Rick Reilly, who said in numerous interviews and on the ESPN website after Armstrong’s confession that it would be hard to accept the apology of Armstrong — who lied to him for 14 years.

“I guess I should forgive him,” Reilly wrote in his Jan. 17 column. “I guess I should give him credit for putting himself through worldwide shame. I guess I should thank him for finally admitting his whole magnificent castle was built on sand and syringes and suckers like me. But I'm not quite ready. Give me 14 years, maybe.”

As a sports fan, he was definitely someone I looked up to because no one could compete against him.

Now, he is one of many athletes I cannot stand to see because he could not do things the right way and let his emotions get the best of him.

He wanted to find ways to win no matter who he hurt and no matter what he had to do to live up to his nickname of “The Boss.”

The best he can say now for his cycling career is he was the third best cyclist at the Tour, which came during a return trip to the sport in 2009.

But once again, he found a way to disrespect his teammates, his sponsors, the media and his fans who watched him compete in France or every other cycling event he participated in during his career.

It’s just sad the legacy he is leaving behind is one I will definitely say is a failure since he has a lifetime ban from the sport, no Tour de France titles and no Olympic medal.

He has also lost all of his sponsorship deals, many friendships that he had while on the Tour and countless journalists who feel betrayed by one of the most celebrated athletes in his field of competition.

If by making the confession he felt he would get some sympathy votes, he definitely did not get any from me.

We saw the true Lance Armstrong come out during the interview, and he is a monster many people probably do not want to see again.

It will take time, but hopefully he will find a way to change his ways and give a truly heartfelt apology to all of the people he hurt for so many years.

As for me, I won’t be holding my breath.

Joe Elerson is a staff writer for the Athens Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge