Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

January 12, 2013

Making a resolution in 2013? Good luck with all that

ATHENS — Were you one of the many Americans who made a New Year’s resolution this year?

Are you still following through with the resolution, or have you already decided to break it and try again next year?

I know it’s only been a couple of weeks and I am sure many of you have already broken the resolution you promised yourself at the beginning of the year.

I think the whole idea of New Year’s resolutions is silly, but I am sure there are many people out there who consider them important each and every year.

A resolution is one of those commitments a person makes to achieve one or more personal goals or projects, or it helps a person find ways to try to break a bad habit.

When I was a kid, I would always make the same resolution of learning a new skill or trying to become better at a sport.

During my junior high years, I would decide I wanted to become a better athlete and would participate in every sport I could. The only problem with my plan was I never had the skill set of an athlete.

In my teen-age years, I thought a resolution was way too difficult to come up with and stressful at the same time.

Once I made my way to the high school ranks, I knew my resolution would never work out the way I wanted it to, so I decided it was time for a new resolution.

One problem with my goals is I always break them because I never think of a new resolution I want to pursue every year.

A lot of people will make their normal resolutions such as needing to lose weight, getting in better shape, quitting smoking or getting out of debt.

As Americans we know about a week or two after setting those goals, something forces us to do exactly what we have done in the past.

We hear friends and family every New Year’s Eve say, “This year, we are going to eat whatever we want today and then start our diet tomorrow.”

One problem automatically comes to mind: They never start the plan in the first place.

A lot of people have set their goals and then come back to me and say, “Why did I do that? There was no way I would be able to accomplish that in the time frame I set out for myself.”

One study by the University of Scranton showed almost half of all Americans make one or more resolutions each year.

Of the people who make those resolutions, the same study showed 75 percent of people keep them past the first week, 71 percent keep them for two weeks and 64 percent of resolutions are still maintained after one month.

Also, people who make resolutions are 10 times more likely to attain their goals than people who don’t make resolutions.

I am not saying people should not make goals for themselves, but if you are going to make them, they should be attainable.

It’s easy to prove in a study how resolutions are kept, but for those friends I come into contact with, those figures just don’t seem to add up in the long run.

We seem to always make a goal, and then someone is there to support us, but we still find some way to make sure our goal backfires on us.

Finally, you have a friend who says, “Hey, I am going to help you achieve this goal of losing 20 pounds in three months.”

You start by working hard with weights and cardio training and then you stumble during the process.

You cave in and head for the donuts instead of your morning shake or the pizza instead of the salad.

After a couple of weeks of serious workout, the friend then decides to see if they can make you break your resolution by offering you your favorite food.

You then decide you don’t want to sacrifice your favorite foods for a better body so you cave in and decide to try it again next year.

If you have set a resolution for 2013 and you are still working toward it, congratulations.

Maybe by the end of the year, you can prove to all of the doubters you can succeed.

Joe Elerson is a staff writer for the Athens Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case