Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

January 11, 2013

Enough already, Mr. Greene

Athens — We were not surprised to hear reports that San Antonio atheist Patrick Greene has once again dropped a lawsuit related to the Nativity scene placed on the Henderson County Courthouse lawn each Christmas season.

In fact, we expected it.

Greene has been threatening legal action and filing lawsuits since his name became attached to the controversy regarding the Nativity scene — which earned international attention in 2011 when the Wisconsin-based Freedom From Religion Foundation tried to have it removed from the courthouse square.

Last February, Greene filed a complaint with the State Commission on Judicial Conduct against County Judge Richard Sanders after Sanders failed to remove a county commissioner who said the Nativity scene was only going to be taken down in one of two ways — “after Christmas, or when hell freezes over.”

Greene backed off, citing a health scare that potentially could have cost him his eyesight. Christians reached out in support, including members of Sand Springs Baptist Church in Athens, sending money to assist in the cost of medical care. The response initially led Greene to proclaim a newfound faith in Jesus Christ, but he later reneged and accused those sending money of trying to “buy him off.”

Last December, Greene — representing himself — filed a lawsuit in Bexar County against the City of Athens. His claim? That the city, by providing funds to Keep Athens Beautiful, was “instigating an atmosphere that gave the public the impression that government gave preference of one faith over all others.” Light Up Athens, which installs and takes down the Nativity scene each year, is a committee under the KAB umbrella.

Greene withdrew the suit after learning that Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott had asked for a copy of the suit.

A few weeks ago, he turned his crosshairs back on Sanders by filing another lawsuit in Bexar County — this time saying the county judge abused his position by giving private citizens permission to display the Nativity scene.

But earlier this week, he withdrew that suit, as well, saying he’s turning his attention to other legal matters not related to the Nativity scene, Athens or Henderson County.

Greene’s actions lack sincerity of purpose and smack of an attention-grab. We’ve grown tired of the charade, frankly, and don’t even want to imagine still wrangling over the Nativity scene in May when we’re corn-dogging it up at the Old Fiddler’s Reunion.

Our county and city officials — while standing firm — have extended to Greene courtesy and patience. Our church congregations have showed him uncommon kindness rooted in their faith.

We acknowledge everyone hasn’t been so courteous to him — including whoever reportedly carved the word “evil” into a doormat near his apartment. We condemn such mischief, for which there is no justification.

However, there also is no justification for Greene’s repeated, pesky efforts to harass the hard-working and honest people in our county.

Enough already, Mr. Greene. We’re moving on.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii