Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

December 26, 2012

For those hurting during the holidays, there is hope

Athens — It's  Christmastime and all in the world should be good. Life is not always that black and white.

Life can be challenging, even in the best of circumstances. When a tragedy happens, like in Connecticut, you want to ask why?

My mother died of cancer when I was a young, 11-year-old girl. She was a devout Catholic; she was a woman very proud of her beliefs. I have always thought if there are saints in this world, my mother was one of them.

Her life had not been easy and she died when she was barely 50 years old. I missed my mother growing up and I still miss my mother today.  

Her religion was so very important to her and she wanted her children to share her beliefs. I have often wondered how her precious God could take such a wonderful person and leave five little girls motherless. There are so many bad people in this world, why my mother?  It took me years to answer my own question.

My mother missed so much. She never saw any of her children become adults or meet any of her grandchildren.

When my son was born, I thought how my mother would have loved him. He was born with red hair. I can remember as a small child my mother wanting at least one of her girls to have red, curly locks. She never got her wish. When Justin was born, it was like, “WOW, my mother would have loved his red hair!”

The day my sister, Joni, died at the young age of 41, she was smiling. I think my mother was there to guide her and calm her fears.

I finally learned throughout the years that as angry as I was when my mother died there is a purpose for all.  It says in the Bible in Ecclesiastes 3:1: To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.”

There was a reason I grew up without a mother.

I had to become an adult and live my own life to realize what my mother was trying to teach me. I know now God doesn’t put anything on our shoulders that we can’t handle. My mother’s God knew she had raised some strong girls and they would find their way in this world.  My mother was tired, life had become difficult to live. He poor body was beat down it was time to take her home. In time I came to understand the God my mother praised her whole life.

As impossible as it may seem, God has a purpose for the children and people in Connecticut. We may not know what it is, there is a reason these kids now sit next to God and are safe once again.

It’s Christmas, the time of the year we remember what is really important in our lives. For me, it is my family and friends. I hope they all are happy and healthy.

 My Christmas wish is that the people of Connecticut, somehow, come to terms with their loss. I have other friends who have suffered great losses during this Christmas season; with time they, too, will understand that God always has a plan. My friend Debbie, who recently passed away, told me, “We can’t stop what God has planned for us. It is all in his hands.” She was so right. It may not be clear now, but I hope in time we will all come to understand why so many people had to suffer.

I hope anyone who has suffered a loss this Christmas season can understand that what is God’s will, will be done. Merry Christmas and may 2013 bring peace to the families in Connecticut. And to the family of my friend, Debbie.

Kathi Nailling is a staff writer for the Athens Review. Contact her at generalmanager@cedarcreek-pilot.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites