Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

December 26, 2012

For those hurting during the holidays, there is hope

Athens — It's  Christmastime and all in the world should be good. Life is not always that black and white.

Life can be challenging, even in the best of circumstances. When a tragedy happens, like in Connecticut, you want to ask why?

My mother died of cancer when I was a young, 11-year-old girl. She was a devout Catholic; she was a woman very proud of her beliefs. I have always thought if there are saints in this world, my mother was one of them.

Her life had not been easy and she died when she was barely 50 years old. I missed my mother growing up and I still miss my mother today.  

Her religion was so very important to her and she wanted her children to share her beliefs. I have often wondered how her precious God could take such a wonderful person and leave five little girls motherless. There are so many bad people in this world, why my mother?  It took me years to answer my own question.

My mother missed so much. She never saw any of her children become adults or meet any of her grandchildren.

When my son was born, I thought how my mother would have loved him. He was born with red hair. I can remember as a small child my mother wanting at least one of her girls to have red, curly locks. She never got her wish. When Justin was born, it was like, “WOW, my mother would have loved his red hair!”

The day my sister, Joni, died at the young age of 41, she was smiling. I think my mother was there to guide her and calm her fears.

I finally learned throughout the years that as angry as I was when my mother died there is a purpose for all.  It says in the Bible in Ecclesiastes 3:1: To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.”

There was a reason I grew up without a mother.

I had to become an adult and live my own life to realize what my mother was trying to teach me. I know now God doesn’t put anything on our shoulders that we can’t handle. My mother’s God knew she had raised some strong girls and they would find their way in this world.  My mother was tired, life had become difficult to live. He poor body was beat down it was time to take her home. In time I came to understand the God my mother praised her whole life.

As impossible as it may seem, God has a purpose for the children and people in Connecticut. We may not know what it is, there is a reason these kids now sit next to God and are safe once again.

It’s Christmas, the time of the year we remember what is really important in our lives. For me, it is my family and friends. I hope they all are happy and healthy.

 My Christmas wish is that the people of Connecticut, somehow, come to terms with their loss. I have other friends who have suffered great losses during this Christmas season; with time they, too, will understand that God always has a plan. My friend Debbie, who recently passed away, told me, “We can’t stop what God has planned for us. It is all in his hands.” She was so right. It may not be clear now, but I hope in time we will all come to understand why so many people had to suffer.

I hope anyone who has suffered a loss this Christmas season can understand that what is God’s will, will be done. Merry Christmas and may 2013 bring peace to the families in Connecticut. And to the family of my friend, Debbie.

Kathi Nailling is a staff writer for the Athens Review. Contact her at generalmanager@cedarcreek-pilot.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • TVCC’s Lovato proves success breeds champions

    Tuesday night was another special night for the athletic program at Trinity Valley Community College.
    It wasn’t a night where a team finished out another amazing season, but one of celebration for a team fans across Henderson County have come to love during the basketball season.
    The Celebrate 8 ceremony for the TVCC Lady Cardinals was held at Cardinal Gym to recognize a team that has accomplished a history-making feat most teams could only dream of.

    April 21, 2014

  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: Kangaroo Rescued From Swimming Pool Raw: 3 American Doctors Killed in Afghanistan Raw: Obama Arrives at State Dinner in Tokyo Raw: Obama Plays Soccer With Japanese Robot Raw: Obama Visits Meiji Shrine in Tokyo Stars Talk Guns N' Roses at Golden Gods New Pictures of Ship That Sank in 1888 Oregon Gay Marriage Ban Goes to Court SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye'