Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

July 24, 2012

Cop Round-up Thieves steal watermelon, other items also missing

Athens —

Athens Police were investigating how a thief cut through the fence and took several items from Pringler Iron & Metal at 1000  Highway 175E.

   One of the items — an ice-cold watermelon.

   Apparently it was cooled to taste since it was stolen from the refrigerator.

  Other less important items taken included chains, boomer straps, numerous tools and miscellaneous scrap copper.

  Police had no suspects as of Monday.

  If you see suspicious watermelon rines in the general area, please don't call the cops.

Stolen items found, returned to owner

   It sometimes pays to report stolen property to the Athens Police Department.

  Helen Parker found that out  last Friday when APD detectives Don Yarbrough and Michael Reynolds returned property she had reported stolen a day earlier.

  The property, an amplifier, a speaker and the front plate to the radio were taken from 714 Johnson in the New Haven Apartments.

   They were returned to Barker at 311 Colorado St. about 3:30 p.m. Saturday.

Suicidal  woman attempts to jump from ambulance

Athens police had to come to the assistance of EMS when a woman they were trying to take  to ETMC, tried to jump out.

  Athens police  officers Jason Bosher and Billy Westover assisted after the woman had been picked up from henderson County Jail.

  She was later safely admitted to ETMC Athens for treatment.

Man with illegal drug but no license arrested

  Athens police arrested Rodney Watson, 21, for possession of an illegal drug Saturday 6.

  Police officer Marshall Passon took Watson, into custody.

 Also:

  • Officer Dana Dykes arrested Stephen Blakemore for possession of marajuana on a warrant from Tarrant County.

  •  Officers Dana Dykes, John Beaty, Marshal Passons and Jason McEntire were called to a fight  in the 200 block of US 175 on Sunday around 10 p.m. on Sunday.

   It turned out to be two fighters and three spectators. Officers found Jaimee Sipiriano, 31, fighting Josh Roberts, 24.

  A Class C misdemeanor ticket was issued for simple assault to Siprianno only.

Art Lawler can be reached at alawler@athensreview.com

  

 

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video