Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

July 24, 2012

Cop Round-up Thieves steal watermelon, other items also missing

Athens —

Athens Police were investigating how a thief cut through the fence and took several items from Pringler Iron & Metal at 1000  Highway 175E.

   One of the items — an ice-cold watermelon.

   Apparently it was cooled to taste since it was stolen from the refrigerator.

  Other less important items taken included chains, boomer straps, numerous tools and miscellaneous scrap copper.

  Police had no suspects as of Monday.

  If you see suspicious watermelon rines in the general area, please don't call the cops.

Stolen items found, returned to owner

   It sometimes pays to report stolen property to the Athens Police Department.

  Helen Parker found that out  last Friday when APD detectives Don Yarbrough and Michael Reynolds returned property she had reported stolen a day earlier.

  The property, an amplifier, a speaker and the front plate to the radio were taken from 714 Johnson in the New Haven Apartments.

   They were returned to Barker at 311 Colorado St. about 3:30 p.m. Saturday.

Suicidal  woman attempts to jump from ambulance

Athens police had to come to the assistance of EMS when a woman they were trying to take  to ETMC, tried to jump out.

  Athens police  officers Jason Bosher and Billy Westover assisted after the woman had been picked up from henderson County Jail.

  She was later safely admitted to ETMC Athens for treatment.

Man with illegal drug but no license arrested

  Athens police arrested Rodney Watson, 21, for possession of an illegal drug Saturday 6.

  Police officer Marshall Passon took Watson, into custody.

 Also:

  • Officer Dana Dykes arrested Stephen Blakemore for possession of marajuana on a warrant from Tarrant County.

  •  Officers Dana Dykes, John Beaty, Marshal Passons and Jason McEntire were called to a fight  in the 200 block of US 175 on Sunday around 10 p.m. on Sunday.

   It turned out to be two fighters and three spectators. Officers found Jaimee Sipiriano, 31, fighting Josh Roberts, 24.

  A Class C misdemeanor ticket was issued for simple assault to Siprianno only.

Art Lawler can be reached at alawler@athensreview.com

  

 

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating