Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

September 14, 2012

Warn your kids to stay away from the net’s dark side

Athens — The first time I clicked on the internet, I was driven by my natural curiosity and my love for electronic gadgets.

That was about 20 years ago. I was working at KCKL and thought it would be cool to get information for my newscasts and sports shows right in my office. I sat and watched the screen slowly fill up with pictures. I finally gave up the search in frustration and said to myself, “What a waste of time.”

Now, our computers have hundreds of times the memory of that old Compaq. I spend hours online each week and still think most of it is a waste of time.

The problem is, I’ve grown to love wasting time. Watching football highlights, music videos on YouTube and checking out pointless posts on Facebook now occupy a pretty big slice on the pie chart  of my day.

Despite the knowledge that I fritter away hours online, I’m also amazed at how useful the net can be. I remember when I was about eight years old, how excited I would be to go to the Mesquite Public Library and look at the literature on-hand.

I loved the reference section. Rifling through the World Atlas looking at all of the maps gave me a pretty basic grasp of geography. Reading the encyclopedia helped me learn about history and important people of the past.

One book in particular could hold me spellbound for hours. It was the Encyclopedia of Baseball, 1962 edition. Even though it was five years old, I was drawn to the fat volume filled with statistics for every player who’d ever suited up and trotted onto the green expanse of places like Forbes Field, Shibe Park and the Polo Grounds.

The Encyclopedia had batting averages for every season the players competed. Every pitcher’s wins and losses, strike outs and walks were just some of the stats in the book.

I loved the book so much, years later, I bought my own updated copy. But today,  with the internet, I can access anything in that book with a few keyboard strokes and clicks of the mouse.

That’s a long way of saying the internet is useful. It’s like having thousands of libraries at your fingertips. The downside is that it can be used for good purposes or for evil.

These days, you can’t be too careful. We, who vaguely remember an elderly gentleman named Ike in the White House are probably a little more suspicious of what we see online than the current generation of kids, who learned to use with baby laptops in their cribs. Parents see their children online and laugh at how much more technically savvy the young ones are than we were - and are. But let’s not forget, as I mentioned earlier, the Internet has an evil side.

This week, news originations across the nation ran the story of a man who was on trial for raping and murdering a 16-year-old girl he had lured into meeting him though social media.

According to the Associated Press story, Franklin B. Davis, 30, of Irving,  confessed to arranging a meeting with his victim under false pretenses, driving her to a trail near a river and shooting her twice with a .38-caliber pistol. Police said he did it to keep her from testifying against him for an earlier rape.

That’s a short synopsis of a brutal and heartless act committed by a man who hid his identity and intentions behind a computer screen. There have been countless meeting of the kind that haven’t ended in homicides, but led to ill advised encounters between a minor and a predator.

The problem is not necessarily that there are more evil people in the world today, though that may be true. The concern is that every scoundrel who can post a message  on the web can now touch you from anywhere in the world.

The FBI has some tips for kids to keep them safe when they’re on the computer.

• Never share your name, the name of your school, your address or phone number with someone you chat with on the computer without your parents permission.

• Do not meet someone or have them visit you without the permission of your parents.

• Tell your parents if you read anything on the internet that makes you feel uncomfortable.

• Remember, people online may not be who they say they are. That person claiming to be a 16-year-old girl, may be an older man.

And parents, keep a watchful eye on what your children are accessing on the computer.

Rich Flowers is News Editor for the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands