A slate of 26 Henderson County Historical Commission members for 2007 won approval from the Henderson County Commissioners Court Monday.

According to the Texas Historical Commission, each county historical commission should include members of diverse ethnic and racial backgrounds representing all areas of the county who have “an interest in preserving all aspects of the county’s history and historic resources.” Board members advise the Commissioners Court on matters of historical preservation. The members are appointed for two years.

“We have several new members who have already put in numerous volunteer hours,” said HCHC Chairman Nelda Reynolds. “We have an exciting and busy year ahead of us.”

Officers for 2007-2008 are Chairman Nelda F. Reynolds; Vice Chairman Sarah Jane Brown; Secretary Betty Hollowell; Treasurer Karin Smith; and Parliamentarian Maxie Barton.

One of the main functions of the Historical Commission is to review all applications for a historical marker before the information is sent to the State Historical Commission for approval. There are several new historical markers being planned around the county.

One major project, Reynolds said, is nearing completion.

“We have coming up the dedication of a historical marker for the courthouse. We don’t have an official announcement yet, but it should be sometime in May,” Reynolds said.

The HCHC is headquartered in the old county jail building on Larkin Street in Athens.

This Week's Circulars