Athens Review, Athens, Texas

March 7, 2013

AISD on ballot

Schools and other county entities prepared for contested elections

Rich Flowers
The Athens Review

Athens — The campaign is on for the three available Athens Independent School District seats up for election May 11. AISD is one of a handful of Henderson County entities that will have contested elections in the spring.

All three Athens School Board incumbents have filed, and have drawn opposition in their races for new terms.  Place 5 Trustee Raymond Williams, who joined the board in 2008, is opposed by Blu Nicholson and Vance Vaughn. Vaughn served as interim superintendent in 2011 in the period between the resignation of Fred Hayes and the selection of Robert Steeber.

Place 6 Trustee David Freeman has held his position on the board since 2001. He is challenged by longtime AISD educator Mary Ann Tyner and Niki Killingsworth.  In Place 7, where Robert Spears has served since 2001. Jackie Soloman is also on the ballot.

Contested municipal races have developed in some Henderson County cities. Malakoff Mayor Delois Pagitt is unopposed for another term, but three candidates have filed for two council seats. Incumbents Tim Trimble and Jeanette King are on the ballot, as is Ricky Lane Baker.

Eustace Mayor Elicia Sanders is also home-free, with no May 11 opponent.  Three council candidates have filed for the two seats up for election. Incumbents H.A. Graves and Chris Woods have entered, along with Randy Johnson.

Chandler will also return its mayor to office, with Ann Hall the lone candidate to file. For the City Council incumbents, Barbara Reeves and Marshall Crawford, Jr. are entered, along with Terrie Eagon.

 The City of Athens canceled its election Wednesday, because only incumbents filed in the two city races on the calendar. Mayor Jerry Don Vaught and Councilman Monte Montgomery will be sworn in for full 2-year terms. 

Brownsboro and Gun Barrel City also had the minimum number of candidates file.

Brownsboro will return Terry Mills for another term as mayor, as well as incumbent council members Len Vest and Josh Fulgham. 

Gun Barrel City had two incumbents file, Rodney Bevil in Place 1, which represents the east side of the city, and Curtis Webster for Place 3, representing the city’s west side. Mary Goss is seeking the Place 5 at-large seat.

Voter registration for the May 11 elections will continue until April 11. Early balloting begins April 29.