Athens Review, Athens, Texas

August 1, 2013

Voters to choose

HC candidates to soon announce their intent to run

Rich Flowers
The Athens Review

Athens — Henderson County voters will again be asked to chose between candidates in several local races in 2014 and candidates will soon begin announcing their intent to run.

In fact, in 2012, Sheriff Ray Nutt announced his re-election bid in June. With filing set to start in November for the March 4, 2014 primaries, prospective candidates will soon be deciding whether to test the water.

There is no presidential election in 2014, but a contested Governor’s race at the top of the ballot could bring a healthy turnout on primary day.  There are also several potential Henderson County races to attract attention.

Judgeships come up for election next year including the 173rd District Court seat, where Judge Dan Moore currently presides, County Court at Law No. 1, now held by Matt Livingston and County Court at Law No. 2, where the incumbent is Nancy Perryman.

Countywide offices include County Judge. Richard Sanders will be completing his first term in the courthouse.  The District Clerk seat, held by Jean Godwin and the office of County Clerk, held by longtime incumbent Gwen Moffeit, will also be on the ballot. County Treasurer Michael Bynum is also finishing his first full 4-year term after replacing Karin Smith, who left to become Anderson County Auditor.

The even-numbered County Commissioner precincts are up for election. The incumbents are Precinct 2 Commissioner Wade McKinney, who has the longest tenure on Commissioners Court and Precinct 4 Commissioner Ken Geeslin, first elected in 2010.

The justice of the peace precincts are also on the 2014 election slate.  The JP election is the first since Commissioners Court voted to eliminate Precinct 6, where Milton Adams has been a strong vote-getter.

JP incumbents include:

• JP 1 – Randy Daniel

• JP 2 – Dale Blaylock

• JP 3 – Sue Starnes

• JP 4 – Kelly Harris

• JP 5 – Tommy Barnett

Voters will also choose a County Surveyor, County Republican Party and Democratic Party chairmen and precinct chairs for each party.