Athens Review, Athens, Texas

May 13, 2013

Kemp mayor ousted

New city officials in Mabank, Gun Barrel City also elected

Kathi Nailling
The Athens Review

Athens — Kemp has a new mayor.

Laura Peace beat incumbent Mayor Donald Kile by a 86 to 64 vote. The Kemp Place 2 City Council seat will be held by incumbent Barry Lummus. Challenger Christi Neal beat incumbent Tommy McSpedden, 77 to 65, for Place 4 on the Kemp Council.

Peace will be sworn in May 14, according to City Secretary Allene Gilmore, and take office on Friday, May 17.

Voters in Kemp also approved a proposition to renew the street sales maintenance tax for another year. Voters voted for the proposition, 108 to 30.

Gun Barrel City will have one new council member, as Marty Goss ran unopposed for his Place 5 at-large council seat. Goss will replace Ronnie Johnson, who chose not to seek re-election.

Voters in Gun Barrel City also went to the polls Saturday to vote on a revision of the City Charter. All eight of the propositions were passed by voters. Changes included implementing a limit of three three-year terms for city council members, as well as other Gun Barrel City boards, including the Economic Development Corporation.

No election was held in Mabank, but that city has a new mayor. City Councilman Jeff Norman will be sworn in as mayor, while longtime Mabank Mayor Larry Teague will be sworn in as a City Council member.

Teague recently chose not to run as mayor, and Norman was appointed to fill the position. The city canceled the election after Norman didn’t draw an opponent.