Athens Review, Athens, Texas

May 10, 2014

Election Saturday

Polls open until 7 p.m. across county

From Staff Reports
The Athens Review

Athens — Early voting wrapped up Tuesday, and today is Election Day for several Henderson County cities.

Three of the elections involve voters in Athens. On the ballot are: an ordinance abolishing the Athens Municipal Water Authority; an election to fill three Athens city council seats; and an election to fill two open seats on the AMWA.

During early voting, only 767 Athens voters participated in the elections for city council and the ordinance to abolish the water authority.

In the AMWA board election, 708 people voted.

For the convenience of voters, all three of the Athens elections are being held at the Henderson County Elections Office at 201 E. Larkin St.

Election day balloting is from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today.

The special election gives voters the opportunity to vote yes or no on an ordinance “abolishing and dissolving the Athens Municipal Water Authority, eliminating the associated ad-valorem tax assessed and collected by the Authority, and vesting the City of Athens with all assets and operations of the Authority.”

With a “yes” vote, the AMWA would be abolished. With a “no” vote, AMWA will continue to oversee the city's water supply.

The city council election races include: Place 1, Joe Whatley and incumbent Carol Barton; in Place 2, Charles Elliott challenging incumbent Aubrey Jones; and Place 3, where Tres Winn is running against Elaine Jenkins.

The AMWA election pits four candidates seeking two open seats on the Athens Municipal Water Authority Board. The candidates are: Mike Peek, Herbert Gatlin, Gregory Hisey and William “Billy” Carter.

There are several other city council and school board elections in the county. The following is a list of races and candidates.

• Caney City: Lawanda Robertson, Pat Mayfield, Lamar Mathews, Randy Reeder and Claude Miller are running for three council seats.

• Chandler: Michael Chandler, Janeice Lunsford, James Allison, M.E. “Gene” Giger and Don Daniell are seeking three seats.

• Gun Barrel City: Paul Eaton and Jim Braswell are running for mayor.  Place 2 Council candidate Ron Wyrick is unopposed.

• Mabank ISD:  In Place 4, Mike Cathey and Erik Tijerina in the only contested race.

•  Mabank City Council candidates John Chappell, Shannon Steakley, Dennis Terry and Jody Ferrell have filed for three seats.

• Seven Points has a mayoral election, with Bill Hash and Gerald Taylor filed. Cheryl Jones and Karon Flagg have no opposition in the council race.

• Tool has three council seats up for election and seven candidates. Running are: Randy Whitehurst, Cindy Clounch, Mike Barr, Rick Williams, Fran Sonka, Kathryn Pinnell and A.J. “Red” Phillips.

Cross Roads ISD voters are deciding whether to approve a $4.5 million bond issue.

The funds, if approved, will help construct a 29,000-square-foot gym/ student event center, and sets aside about $500,000 for repairs of existing structures.

In early voting, 157 people turned out to cast their ballot in the bond issue.

Results of all the elections can be found in the Tuesday edition of the Athens Review.