Athens Review, Athens, Texas

September 24, 2013

City staffs boards

All members chosen but one

Rich Flowers
The Athens Review

Athens — The Athens City Council made appointments to the Athens Economic Development Corporation and the Athens Housing Authority boards on Monday, but declined to vote on one nominee to allow more time to study the matter.

AEDC board members Maurice Cox, Jess Laird and Joe Masso were each approved for new 2-year terms. The AEDC bylaws state that board members can serve a total of six years.  Laird, Masso and Cox each began serving in 2011 and are nearing the end of their first terms.

Councilman Monte Montgomery said he would like more time to study the recommendation that Cliff Barrett be appointed to the seat that will be vacated by Robert Gould, who is completing his third term and is not eligible for reappointment. Barrett has been an Athens citizen since 1987 and is a financial advisor for Edward Jones Investment.

The council voted to appoint three members to the Athens Housing. Cassie Ashford, Nancy Spencer and Joey Baggett were chosen for 2-year terms. Baggett replaces Mollie Royal who declined reappointment. Spencer will replace Frances Walker, who is ineligible for reappointment.

In other action, the Council voted to:

• execute an agreement with the Texas Department of Transportation for the 2014 Routine Airport Maintenance Program Grant; and

• authorizing staff to advertise for bids for wastewater facilities to serve Old Kaufman Road and Magnolia Road  in the western part of the city.