Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Local News

May 11, 2013

A very special mother

This mom loves every minute of motherhood

Athens — Every child deserves to be brought into this world surrounded by love. Adoptive mother Tosha Spain hopes that is what she gave her new daughter, Harper Faith. And, that is what Harper has already given to Tosha.

Little Harper, 19-months-old, was born addicted to drugs. Tosha says when she was asked to adopt Harper, she had to do some deep soul searching. In the end she knew she wanted the baby.

Tammy Spain, Tosha's mother, was the one who nominated her daughter for the Athens Review Mother's Day Story.

The proud grandmother (G.G.) had this to say about her daughter: “A lot of thought and prayer went into her decision to adopt Harper.  Tosha is single, and  also a coach at TVCC, where she coaches volleyball. She has 12 girls that are like her own. At first, Tosha was not sure if it was fair to Harper to just have a mom, or if it would be better for her to go to a family with a mom and dad. After a lot of prayer, she decided she would start the adoption process. Harper was placed with Tosha on Feb. 2, 2012.

“When the CPS lady brought Harper, it was a very scary but happy day. Little Harper was scared, as was Tosha. It was all new to both of them. Harper was sick when she came to her new home, and the second day she was there, motherhood began with a doctor's visit.

“Harper coming into Tosha’s life has truly been a blessing for both of them. Harper has taught Tosha so much, and  brought so much happiness into the family. If you ever see these two, you would never know that Harper is adopted.

“All I know is that the world is a better place with people like Tosha in it, because we have so many little ones that need homes,  and it takes special people to open their hearts to the unknown. Tosha’s days now consists of daycare, dirty diapers, doctor visits, walks in the park, zoo trips and many more things. And as she has stated, she wouldn't change it for the world.

“Tosha says Harper is her smile, but I believe Tosha is Harper’s smile. Harper may not have grown under Tosha’s heart, but she grew in her heart.”

Tammy said, “As Tosha's mom, I want to say I am beyond proud of Tosha, and what she decided to do. It has been a long rough road. Harper has had a lot of sickness, but Tosha never hesitated, and  has handled better than I could have ever thought she would have. I'm extremely proud to call her my daughter.”

Harper was formally adopted in October 2012.

Thirty-year-old Tosha said she thought some day she would adopt a child, but she had not planned to adopt in the manner she did.

“I think Harper was just supposed to be part of our family,” she said.

The single mother says she has no regrets. Her favorite part of being Harper’s mom is when she comes home from a hard day at the college, her daughter makes everything okay.

“Harper just wants to play or hug and kiss me. It makes the stress from the day disappear,” said Tosha. “She loves me. We are still working to get Harper healthy.”

 She was born into this world with a lot of medical issues.  The little girl spent 22 days in ICU after she was born. She was placed in foster care for the first three months of her life. 

“It breaks my heart to think of the things Harper has been through in her short life,” Tosha said.

Everything in Tosha's life has changed since Harper came into her world. She says everything has changed for the best. She said she doesn't have time to think about herself. All her energy is focused on the little girl she calls her daughter, Harper. 

Through the ups and downs of Harper’s many illnesses, the proud mother says,  “I wouldn't trade what I have now for anything.”

Tosha says she has to admit little Harper is spoiled.

“She has her Pop and GG wrapped around her little finger. My dad can't say no to her.”

Tammy Spain (GG) said, “She's my smile. I never knew I had an empty heart until Harper entered our family.”

John Steinbeck once said, “Perhaps it takes courage to raise children.”

Tosha Spain says, “The love you get from raising a child is all you need.”

1
Text Only
Local News
  • Knife-wielding man arrested

    The Athens Police Department arrested a 34-year-old man who allegedly entered an apartment early Saturday and injured another man using a pocket knife.

    July 22, 2014

  • fair Henderson County Rural Resource Fair

    When you find yourself in need of help, it's important to know where to go. The need to know is what drew a crowd to the Trinidad ISD cafeteria Monday morning.
    Approximately 30 non-profit vendors were on hand for the first Rural Resource Fair. The vendors were there to provide information to the public about available resources in Henderson County.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Mission Minded

    Eight ladies are in Garland to teach the word of Christ to the area’s Arabic-speaking population.
    Makaye Key of Eustace is part of a group of ladies known as the G.M.A.’s or Girls Missionary Auxilary.

    July 22, 2014

  • Former Pct. 5 JP dies

    Judy Newman, who served as Precinct 5 Justice of the Peace for parts of three decades, died Thursday at age 75.

    July 21, 2014

  • ADR logo.tif City of Tool re-zones property for new Dollar General Store

    After an hour-long  public hearing, the Tool City Council voted to re-zone property located at 1301 S. Tool Dr. (Highway 274) from residential to commercial.  This re-zoning was a required condition for a proposed Dollar General Store.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • DSC_0122.JPG Broken water main

    City of Athens crewmembers worked in falling rain to fix a broken 8-inch cast-iron water main near the intersection of Barker Street and Faulk Street in Athens Thursday.  Workers believed the reason for the break was the age of the water main. Shown are workers Jonathan Davila, Eric Davis and Marion Klutts.  Also present was Dean Burkhalter.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • ADR logo.tif Mover convicted for stealing goods

    A family’s nightmare finally came to an end on June 25 when John Junior Smith, formerly of Tyler, was sentenced to eight years confinement in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice for his role in defrauding a family who had hired him to move them. 
    Assistant District Attorney Justin Weiner prosecuted the case.  Smith was sentenced in the 173rd Judicial District Court with Judge Dan Moore presiding.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-19 back to school bash.jpeg Back to School Bash needs donations to help children

    For the second year Leslie Ward has been organizing the Back to School Bash at Cedar Creek Lake. Her goal this year is to provide free hair cuts, immunizations, bibles, backpacks, school supplies and  bags of food to 700 local children.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-19 CCL ribbon cutting.jpg CCLACC new member

    The Cedar Creek Lake Area Chamber of Commerce held a ribbon cutting on Friday for new member LaQuinta Inns & Suites in Gun Barrel City. Friends, family and chamber members help Nadina and Reema Patel cut the ribbon. The hotel is owned by Jay Patel and Vimal Patel. Sarah Turner is the general manager of the hotel.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-19 CCL rotary.jpg Speaker at Rotary Club of CCL

    Rotary Club of Cedar Creek Lake President Erin Osborn (right) welcomed Pastor Nancy Schoenle as speaker to the Friday Rotary Club meeting. Pastor Nancy is the Director at The Genesis Center. The center is a faith based shelter for women. Genesis provides safety and shelter for victims of domestic violence.  The Center serves Kaufman and Henderson County.  Amanda Michael (center) has lived at the shelter for 10 months. For information The Genesis Center call Pastor Nancy at 972-932-4351.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo