Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Local News

May 11, 2013

A very special mother

This mom loves every minute of motherhood

Athens — Every child deserves to be brought into this world surrounded by love. Adoptive mother Tosha Spain hopes that is what she gave her new daughter, Harper Faith. And, that is what Harper has already given to Tosha.

Little Harper, 19-months-old, was born addicted to drugs. Tosha says when she was asked to adopt Harper, she had to do some deep soul searching. In the end she knew she wanted the baby.

Tammy Spain, Tosha's mother, was the one who nominated her daughter for the Athens Review Mother's Day Story.

The proud grandmother (G.G.) had this to say about her daughter: “A lot of thought and prayer went into her decision to adopt Harper.  Tosha is single, and  also a coach at TVCC, where she coaches volleyball. She has 12 girls that are like her own. At first, Tosha was not sure if it was fair to Harper to just have a mom, or if it would be better for her to go to a family with a mom and dad. After a lot of prayer, she decided she would start the adoption process. Harper was placed with Tosha on Feb. 2, 2012.

“When the CPS lady brought Harper, it was a very scary but happy day. Little Harper was scared, as was Tosha. It was all new to both of them. Harper was sick when she came to her new home, and the second day she was there, motherhood began with a doctor's visit.

“Harper coming into Tosha’s life has truly been a blessing for both of them. Harper has taught Tosha so much, and  brought so much happiness into the family. If you ever see these two, you would never know that Harper is adopted.

“All I know is that the world is a better place with people like Tosha in it, because we have so many little ones that need homes,  and it takes special people to open their hearts to the unknown. Tosha’s days now consists of daycare, dirty diapers, doctor visits, walks in the park, zoo trips and many more things. And as she has stated, she wouldn't change it for the world.

“Tosha says Harper is her smile, but I believe Tosha is Harper’s smile. Harper may not have grown under Tosha’s heart, but she grew in her heart.”

Tammy said, “As Tosha's mom, I want to say I am beyond proud of Tosha, and what she decided to do. It has been a long rough road. Harper has had a lot of sickness, but Tosha never hesitated, and  has handled better than I could have ever thought she would have. I'm extremely proud to call her my daughter.”

Harper was formally adopted in October 2012.

Thirty-year-old Tosha said she thought some day she would adopt a child, but she had not planned to adopt in the manner she did.

“I think Harper was just supposed to be part of our family,” she said.

The single mother says she has no regrets. Her favorite part of being Harper’s mom is when she comes home from a hard day at the college, her daughter makes everything okay.

“Harper just wants to play or hug and kiss me. It makes the stress from the day disappear,” said Tosha. “She loves me. We are still working to get Harper healthy.”

 She was born into this world with a lot of medical issues.  The little girl spent 22 days in ICU after she was born. She was placed in foster care for the first three months of her life. 

“It breaks my heart to think of the things Harper has been through in her short life,” Tosha said.

Everything in Tosha's life has changed since Harper came into her world. She says everything has changed for the best. She said she doesn't have time to think about herself. All her energy is focused on the little girl she calls her daughter, Harper. 

Through the ups and downs of Harper’s many illnesses, the proud mother says,  “I wouldn't trade what I have now for anything.”

Tosha says she has to admit little Harper is spoiled.

“She has her Pop and GG wrapped around her little finger. My dad can't say no to her.”

Tammy Spain (GG) said, “She's my smile. I never knew I had an empty heart until Harper entered our family.”

John Steinbeck once said, “Perhaps it takes courage to raise children.”

Tosha Spain says, “The love you get from raising a child is all you need.”

1
Text Only
Local News
  • DSC_0018.JPG Volunteers now needed for Athens Soup Kitchen

    Athens resident Terry Mayhall walked through the doors of the Athens Soup Kitchen asking if he could just volunteer. Mayhall now spends his Thursdays cooking soup for people who are hungry.
    Athens Soup Kitchen, Inc. is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. The mission is to feed those who are hungry. The facility that feeds 30 to 63 people weekly, opened its door in March 2014.

    July 26, 2014 2 Photos

  • 7-26 Mike chamber.png Coston named chamber president

    After a diligent search, the Athens Chamber of Commerce Board has named Mike Coston president. 
    “The chamber board selected a search committee, which consisted of Chamber members, community leaders and business owners,” Ashley Adams McKee, Chairman of the Athens Chamber of Commerce Board, said. “Our committee knew that we wanted to take our time to find the most qualified person to serve as our new president. We had more than 10 applicants and in our first round of interviews we were all equally impressed and excited about Mike's experience and passion for chamber business.”

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • ADR logo.tif Update on restaurant projects given

    City of Athens officials gave an update on some ongoing projects and financial information at a meeting on Wednesday.
    Director of Planning and Development Gary Crecilius said progress on the Cotton Patch Cafe has slowed considerably with the discovery of a possible environmental hazard. The restaurant is being constructed east of the Walmart store on East Tyler Street.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • IMG_3092.JPG HCPAC announces ‘Mattress’ sales

    Why would HCPAC be selling mattresses? Actually, the “mattresses” are tickets to “Once Upon a Mattress,” which opens Thursday, Aug. 7.
    The 26th Annual Youth Summer Musical stars 24 very talented area students, ages 10 through college, and tells the “fractured fairy tale” version of the “Princess and the Pea.”

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-26 CCL Rotary Celebrity waiter.jpg Gearing up for Celebrity Waiter event

    The Rotary Club of Cedar Creek Lake is gearing up for its annual Celebrity Waiter event. The Celebrity Waiter committee met on Thursday to discuss last minute items. The event is scheduled for Saturday, August 9 at Athens Country Club. This will be the 18th year the CCL Rotary Club has hosted the fundraiser. For ticket information call Erin Osborn at 903-887-7486.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • paul harris.jpg Paul Harris recognition

    Rotary of Cedar Creek Lake President Erin Osborn presents Rotarian Bill Burnett with his second Paul Harris recognition. Rotarians are given a Paul Harris recognition when a Rotarian donates $1,000 or more to the fund outright. Benefactors receive a certificate and insignia to wear with a Rotary or Paul Harris Fellow pin.

    July 26, 2014 2 Photos

  • 7-25 Sanders_Kendall.jpg Sanders suspended indefinitely

    Two University of Texas football players were arrested and charged Thursday with felony sexual assault after a female student said she was raped in a campus dorm room last month.
    Wide receivers Kendall Sanders, of Athens, and Montrel Meander were arrested and later released on personal recognizance bonds. According to an arrest affidavit, Sanders and Meander texted each other during earlier interviews with police to "get their story straight" and Sanders also faces a charge of improper photography tied to the alleged assault on June 21.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-25 tree down college st. 1.JPG Thunderstorms take their toll on counties

    A line of thunderstorms rolled through Henderson County on Wednesday, snapping tree branches and power lines along the way.
    The winds that accompanied the storm resulted in thousands of people in North Texas without electricity and roads broken by falling trees or debris.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • ADR logo.tif Council considering Burton's severance package

    The Athens City Council, by a 3-to-2 vote, tabled a budget adjustment on Wednesday to fund a severance package for City Administrator Pam Burton who’s stepping down at the end of the year.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • ADR logo.tif Eustace ISD approves tax rates

    The Eustace Independent School District Board of Trustees held its regular monthly meeting Tuesday in the Eustace High School Library.
    Several reports and agenda items were considered by the board, and all were passed or approved. Board Secretary Ashley McKee was absent.
    The board was presented with the superintendent's reports on revenue, expenditures, payroll and taxes.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo