Athens Review, Athens, Texas

February 18, 2014

Early voting begins today for March primary

Chad Wilson
The Athens Review

Athens — Early voting for the March 4 primary election begins today.

There are several races in both parties statewide while the Republican ballot has the most Henderson County races.

A voter’s information guide was published in Friday’s Athens Review with details on most of the races.

Early voting runs Feb. 18 -Feb. 28 before election day is Tuesday, March 4.

Early voting locations include the Henderson County Elections Center in Athens, Chandler Community Center and Seven Points City Hall.

Henderson County Elections Center will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Feb. 18 and Feb. 28. Other hours of operation are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Feb. 19-22 and Feb. 24-27.

Chandler’s site is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. while Seven Points’ closes at 4 p.m.

Filing for the March 2014 primary elections ended with a total of 25 Republicans filing for a county position, while four Democrats filed.

Democrat Billy Murphree filed for county surveyor while Marsha Head filed to retain her position as Democratic county chair.

Larry West filed for County Commissioner, Precinct 4, while Barry Fleming filed for Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1.

The four Democratic candidates are running unopposed in the primary election, while several candidates will have a little competition on the Republican ballot.

Leticia Carpenter and Mary Margaret Wright have filed for county clerk, Wade McKinney for County Commissioner, Precinct. 2 and Nancy Perryman for County Court at Law Judge No. 2.

Gordon Folmar, Ken Geeslin and Kelly Harris have filed for County Commissioner, Precinct 4, a position currently held by Geeslin.

Mark W. Hall and Scott Williams filed for County Court at Law Judge No. 1.

Three have filed for district clerk, including Betty Herriage, Jean Godwin Brittain and Stacey Norman.

Randy Daniel and Jerry Horn filed for Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1, while Rodney Henderson, Kevin Pollock and Dale Blaylock filed for Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2.

Sue Starns is retiring as JP-3 and two have filed for her position. They are Susan Carver and James A. “Tony” Duncan.

Milton K. Adams and Edie Walker filed for Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4.

• Statewide Democratic Party Races •

The Republican list was printed as part of the Voters Information Guide in Friday’s Athens Review.


Wendy R. Davis


Reynaldo “Ray” Madrigal

Lieutenant Governor

Leticia Van De Putte


Comptroller of Public Accounts

Mike Collier


Land Commissioner

John Cook


Agriculture Commissioner

Jim Hogan

Richard “Kinky” Friedman


Hugh Asa Fitzsimmons III


Railroad Commissioner

Steve Brown


Dale Henry

Texas Supreme Court

Chief Justice

William Moody

Justice, Place 6

Lawrence Edward Meyers

Justice, Place 7

Gina Benavides

United States Senator

David Alameel


Michael “FJET” Fjetland


Harry Kim


Maxey Marie Scherr