Athens Review, Athens, Texas

January 10, 2013

East Texas scholarship list released

Deadline to apply with agency is March 31

Special to the Review
Athens Daily Review

Athens — TYLER — East Texas Communities Foundation is accepting scholarship applications for its various scholarship funds.

Deadline for submission is March 1, 2013. All applications and eligibility criteria are available at

For more information, please call Mary Lynn Smith at 903-533-0208 or log on to our website at

The scholarships being offered relating to Henderson County area students are this year are:

• David G. and Jacqueline M. Braithwaite Scholarship for Vocational/Technical Study in Medically Related Fields: For East Texas students pursuing a vo/tech AA degree or certificate in a medically related field. Amount: $1,500 — renewable for the length of the program;

• David G. and Jacqueline M. Braithwaite Scholarship in Chemistry: For East Texas graduating seniors majoring in chemistry.  Amount: $3,000 — renewable for three years;

• David G. and Jacqueline M. Braithwaite Scholarship in Medicine, Biotechnology, and Veterinary Medicine: For East Texas graduating seniors who plan to major in biology, mathematics, engineering or a related field which will allow them to pursue a career in medicine, veterinary medicine, or biotechnology. Amount: $3,000 — renewable for three years;

• J.M. Braithwaite TJC Nursing Scholarship: For East Texas student pursuing a nursing degree at Tyler Junior College. Amount: $1,000 — renewable;

• Dr. Elbert H. Caldwell Scholarship: For an East Texas resident wishing to pursue a career in a medically related field, with preference for nursing. Amount: $2,500 — renewable scholarship;

• East Texas Geological Society Scholarship: For a student pursuing an undergraduate or master’s degree in geology in the State of Texas. Must be a sophomore, or higher, in college at time of application. Amount: $1,500 — renewable for a total of two years;

• Betty and Roy Erickson Scholarship: For graduating seniors from an East Texas High School. Amount: $1,000;

• Chris Lyon Memorial Scholarship: For art majors at the University of Texas at Tyler. Amount: $1,000;

• Natural Gas Society of East Texas Scholarship: For Texas college students at the undergraduate or graduate level who have declared a major in a field of study which directly relates to the energy industry. Amount: $1,000;

• Leslie Reid Memorial Scholarship: For any female Henderson County senior who has participated in horse shows in Henderson County. Amount: $1,000;

• Smith County Baptist Ministers Scholarship: For dependent children of ordained ministers serving congregations that are members of the Baptist General Convention of Texas. Amount: To be determined;

• Sherilyn A. Willis, M.D. Medical Scholarship: For a student attending medical school in the State of Texas. Amount: $500;