Athens Review, Athens, Texas

March 19, 2013

Cramm is CCL’s top citizen

Ragsdale honored with lifetime award

Kathi Nailling
The Athens Review

Athens — The Cedar Creek Lake Area Chamber of Commerce held its 13th Annual Awards Banquet at Cedar Creek Country Club Monday night. The theme for the evening was “Embracing the past ... Changing for the future.”

Marty Mullens, chairperson for the Chamber of Commerce, acted as Master of Ceremonies. Mullins said there were some exciting changes planned for the coming year. Some of the changes will include a car show, as well as the fact that The Poker Run this year will start at Comfort Suites. An updated website for the Chamber and two branches of the chamber will also be combining into one. No further information was offered at the banquet.

The 2011 Citizen of the year, Chrissy Adams, presented the 2012 Citizen of the Year Award to Tate Cramm.

Adams said that some of the reasons Cramm was chosen as the Citizen of the Year were: He’s an active member of the CCLACC Chamber; he has taken money out of his own pocket to help kids with school supplies; he served as vice president of the CCL Kiwanis; he is active in the Kiwanis Krawfish Boil; he helps with Special Olympics; he is Vice President of the Parrot Head Club; he served on board of Thunder Over Cedar Creek Lake; he helps with the CCL ACC Chamber car show; and he is  President of the Tool/Seven Points Branch of the CCLACC.

Adams said, “Tate Cramm’s community involvement is widespead ongoing, so we’ve probably missed some things, but these are the highlights.”

Longtime Cedar Creek Lake resident James D. Ragsdale was awarded the 2013 Jean Nichols Lifetime Service Award. Last year’s recipients of the JNLSA were JoAnne and Bill Hanstrom.

Hanstrom said, “The 2013 winner of the chamber’s Jean Nichols Lifetime Service Award has been a loyal resident to Henderson County, and has worked tirelessly through the years to improve not only our county, but our state and our country. He's the author of the book, “Are You Coming or Going?” which gives an overview of his life, and includes the history of the Cedar Creek Lake Area.

Other award winners included: Becky Hepker Ambassador of the year, Robbye Grisson, President's Hall of Fame Award, Mabank ISD Teachers of the Year were awarded to  Nicci Romero (High School); Amanda Hardy (Junior High); Terri Keisling (Intermediate); Nancy Clark (Central Elementary), Mary Helen Myrick Award was awarded to the Mabank Volunteer Fire Department; Fire Chief Ricky Myrick accepting the award and Carol Strickland, Kathy Kendrick Volunteer Award.