Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Local News

October 10, 2012

It’s definite: Steeber leaving

AISD Superintendent takes another position in Fort Worth

Athens — Athens Independent School District Superintendent Robert Steeber is leaving after one year, and heading for a job in Fort Worth.

After a long executive session Tuesday, Steeber read a brief letter of resignation, thanking the district, and giving his reasons for the departure. His last day at AISD will be Friday, after which he will move to the Education Service Center for Region XI office in Fort  Worth.

The following is an excerpt from Steeber’s resignation letter.

“In September, 2011, I was honored to become the superintendent of Athens ISD. I’m still honored to hold that title. I thank the board for the trust that has been given to me with this position. This is a wonderful district, and the community is fortunate to have such a wonderful board of trustees. This last year has come at great sacrifice for my family.  The intent to relocate my family to this area has not been successful.  I believe that each of us should prioritize their lives with God, family and work. I have found that my family has been losing precious time together that we cannot get back. It has become necessary at this time to explore options to get my family and I back together.”

Assistant Superintendent Blake Stiles will step into the role of interim superintendent while the district goes through the process of choosing a permanent replacement.

“I’m excited about the opportunity,” Stiles said. “It makes me sad to see Dr. Steeber go. I appreciate the guidance he’s given me in this position. I like the direction Athens is moving, and think we’ve made a lot of progress in the last year. I’d like to continue with that progress.”

Steeber, 46, came to Athens after a 4-year stay at S & S Consolidated in Sadler, replacing Fred Hayes, who left for the Nacogdoches School District in May, 2011. S&S stands for the communities of Sadler and Southmayd. Sadler is located in Grayson County, about 60 miles north of Dallas.

AISD had 62 applications for Hayes’ position, and in August was set to offer the top candidate the job. When that deal fell through, School Board President Raymond Williams said any one of the three top candidates would have been an excellent choice.

“The three that were the finalists were all very qualified,” Williams said. “We looked at them as 1A, 1B and 1C.”

1
Text Only
Local News
  • 2726192_300x300.jpg Darin Karl found Thursday on Cedar Creek Lake

    The body of a 42-year-old man who had been missing in Cedar Creek Lake was recovered on Thursday.
    The drowning victim was identified as Darin Lynn Karl of Kemp. According to Henderson County Sheriff Ray Nutt, Karl and his nephew were fishing near Cedar Creek Country Club when the boat overturned, ejecting the men. 

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • ADR logo.tif AISD approves moving monthly meeting, additional drug testing

    Discussion on meal prices for the 2014-15 school year was pulled from Thursday's Athens Independent School District Board of Trustees agenda but other items were approved that will bring about change in the district.
    By unanimous decision, the school board approved changes to the scheduled date for its monthly meetings; additional drug testing on the high school campus and modification to the graduation policy.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • 4-19 drugs.tif Prescription Drug Take Back Day April 26

    On Saturday, April 26 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., the Athens Police Department and Keep Athens Beautiful will host the National Prescription Drug Take Back Day, giving the public its seventh opportunity in four years to prevent pill abuse and theft.

    April 19, 2014 2 Photos

  • ADR logo.tif Feud between Tool VFDs extends to city council

    The two volunteer fire departments in Tool have been dueling for 11 years. The feud between the two departments started in 2003, when the citizens of Tool voted to establish Emergency Service District No. 4. According to reports, this was about the same time the Tool Volunteer Fire Department was established.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • ADR logo.tif Would Lake Athens residents suffer if city controls water?

    Members of Lake Athens Property Owners Association have been watching the dispute between the City of Athens and the Athens Municipal Water Authority uncertain of how this will affect their future.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • ADR logo.tif Hot issue

    The two volunteer fire departments in Tool have been dueling for 11 years. The feud between the two departments started in 2003, when the citizens of Tool voted to establish Emergency Service District No. 4. According to reports, this was about the same time the Tool Volunteer Fire Department was established.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • ADR logo.tif Surplus property to be moved or demolished

    Athens Independent School District purchased property at 404 Royall Street during its March school board meeting with the intent to square off property previously purchased by the district.
    During Thursday's school board meeting, a unanimous decision was made to designate the property as surplus and advertise the home to be moved or demolished.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • DSC_0077.JPG Taste of Home Cooking School

    The Taste of Home Cooking School was held Thursday at the Cain Center. Hundreds attended the events that was sponsored by Cole A/C and the Athens Daily Review.
     

    April 19, 2014 6 Photos

  • ADR logo.tif City, AMWA differ on future management of water supply

    The 57-year relationship between the Athens Municipal Water Authority and the City of Athens grew stormy in 2013 because of a disagreement over who should pay certain bills.
    The difference-of-opinion led to the Authority filing suit against the city last December, and the city responding by setting the wheels in motion that slated a May 10 election to decide whether to abolish AMWA.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • 4-18 Easter.jpg Excited and ready

    Lexie and Isabella Hawkins are excited and ready for the Kiwanis Easter Egg Hunt on Saturday, April 19 at 9 a.m. in Kiwanis Park.  Bicycles, rabbits and lots of Easter Eggs will be waiting for you. Everyone is welcome, and of course the Easter Bunny will be there.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Twitter Updates