Athens Review, Athens, Texas

January 3, 2013

‘Off the naughty list’

LaPoynor ISD once again back in good standing with AG

Jeff Riggs
Athens Daily Review

Athens — LaPoynor Independent School District is now officially in compliance with state school safety standards, according to a statement released from the office of Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott dated Jan. 2.

An earlier list of districts released last month that included LaPoynor ISD with other schools deemed not to be in compliance has now been reduced from 78 to 16.

According to the AG’s Office, the updated list “reflects confirmation that the ... schools have provided the proper materials to the Texas School Safety Center and are in compliance.”

LISD Superintendent Sherry Douglas said the district is relieved to have been removed from the list.

“We’re off the naughty list. It’s great,” Douglas said. “It hadn’t happened to us before. It was alarming to our community and parents. But, now we have submitted everything required.”

Douglas said LISD submitted the proper reports on Dec. 19, 2012.  The deadline offered by the Attorney General’s Office was Jan. 14.

The AG’s Office on Dec. 17, 2012, released the original list of 78 school districts, including Lapoynor, that had no safety audit on file with the Texas School Safety Center.

Douglas had agreed that her district did not have a safety audit on file with the Safety Center, but added that a “clerical error” caused the emergency plan to not be on file with the state. She was on the phone with the state agency within hours of the release of the original list — which coincided with concerns over the December school shooting in Newtown, Conn.

The school districts listed, along with Lapoynor, are  listed here: Anahuac, Beaumont, Beeville,  Ben Bolt-Palito Blanco, Bushland, Cayuga, Claude, Coldsprings-Oakhurst, Cooper, Crandall. Cushing, Darrouzett, Denver City, Dodd City, Edinburg, Frankston, Grandfalls-Royalty, Gregory-Portland, Hooks, Huckabay, Irion County, Italy, Kennedale, Kennard, Laneville, La Vernia, Leakey, Leonard, Levelland, Marathon, Martinsville, May, Melissa, Milford, Miller Grove, Morgan, Natalia, North Forest, Pewitt, Pleasanton, River Road, Riviera, Roby, Rochelle, Roscoe, Rotan, Schleicher, Shamrock, Shiner, Sidney, Stafford, Timpson, Tioga, Union Hill, Valley View, Van Vleck, Westhoff, Wharton, Wildorado, Woden and Zavalla.